Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I liked the flavors, but not the texture. I didn't like the rutabega and parsnips--I was hoping to find a good recipe for them, but I'm still looking. I only ate the potatoes and yams--had to throw the rest away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I was looking for a decent way to cook my root vegetables and chose this recipe because I thought the combination of veggies and spices sounded good. I honestly didn't care for it. The spices together were mediocre and I did not care for the way the rutabagas and parsnips tasted. I suppose that if you like these vegetables unflavored, you will like this recipe. I prepare them more heavily spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I just wanted to note that my original recipe called for Montreal Steak Spice which has a lot more flavor and depth than regular steak seasoning salts. If you do not have this seasoning you can make an approximation of it using 2 parts paprika, course grind balck pepper and salt to 1 part garlic powder, onion powder, crushed corriander, dill and crushed red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NEWSAHMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
My entire family liked this- even the kids. I didn't use the steak seasoning and even used less chili sauce-but the flavor of the vegetables was great. I used more regular potatoes and no rutabagas-so maybe that is why it was so popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great! I had never had parsnips or rutabaga until we went to England for our honeymoon. Since we've been back, I've been wanting to cook them myself. I substituted more of the other veggies since I don't like carrots, and next time I'm omitting the steak seasoning. It was just too much. And I used the Montreal steak seasoning...Other than that, great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fan-freakin'-tastic. I cut the root veggies thin to be more like chips, this is a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianDThibault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is great! You can make it with any combination of root veggies; I like to skip rutabagas and new potatoes and add butternut squash and turnips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Good if you like spicy. A bit to spicy for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I cut back on the amount of chili sauce (and would probably omit it altogther next time). The carrots ended up a little burnt so I would probably add them a few minutes after the other veggies next time also. I added a little kosher salt. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fabulous vegetable dish. Love the various flavours and textures. Good for Harvest time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States