Absolutely Delicious Baked Root Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
These were pretty good. I did find them a bit too spicy for my palate, and I think it was the extra pepper that did it--the submitter is right, Montreal Steak Seasoning packs a punch, and it has pepper in it already. I'd leave out the additionl pepper next time. I don't think I've ever had parsnips or rutabagas, and I have no idea if I like them--didn't find them in the store so I just left them out and put in a red pepper instead. I also used baby carrots--tossed them in as is, although I really shouldve cut them in half at least since they took the longest to cook. These veggies are good; just modify the seasonings to taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My family did not like this. I can't really blame the recipe though. I think we just don't like rutabaga. Also, since I didn't have any sweet red chili sauce so I substituted a small amount of chili oil which is probably totally different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Great recipe. In contrast to other reviews I found it to be over seasoned, so I guess you need to adjust for your personal taste in that respect. I also prefer my veggies in bigger rustic chunks so I obviously had to increase the cook time accordingly. One little tip I have is to add a slug of maple syrup when there's 10-15 mins left... adds a lovely woodsy caramelised layer of flavor and enhances the sweetness of the roasted veg. Yum! (FYI - I don't use the sweet chilli sauce).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Fabulous vegetable dish. Love the various flavours and textures. Good for Harvest time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
I cut back on the amount of chili sauce (and would probably omit it altogther next time). The carrots ended up a little burnt so I would probably add them a few minutes after the other veggies next time also. I added a little kosher salt. Very good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Good if you like spicy. A bit to spicy for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
This recipe is great! You can make it with any combination of root veggies; I like to skip rutabagas and new potatoes and add butternut squash and turnips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hawley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Fan-freakin'-tastic. I cut the root veggies thin to be more like chips, this is a definite repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrianDThibault

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This was great! I had never had parsnips or rutabaga until we went to England for our honeymoon. Since we've been back, I've been wanting to cook them myself. I substituted more of the other veggies since I don't like carrots, and next time I'm omitting the steak seasoning. It was just too much. And I used the Montreal steak seasoning...Other than that, great recipe! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menasheep

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evening Shade, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
My entire family liked this- even the kids. I didn't use the steak seasoning and even used less chili sauce-but the flavor of the vegetables was great. I used more regular potatoes and no rutabagas-so maybe that is why it was so popular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Vegetables

See how to make a simple roasted vegetable casserole.

How to Roast Winter Vegetables

Learn how to roast seasoned root vegetables to bring out their earthy flavors.

How to Make Baked Acorn Squash

See a simple recipe for delicious roasted acorn squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States