Absolutely Best Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
These are so delicious! I used all purpose flour and following others recommendations, made 1 & 1/2 batch but I kept eggs & salt the same. Also followed recommendation to use 1/2 butter & 1/2 oil but since I made 1&1/2 I used 1/4 c unsweetened applesauce instead of adding more oil/butter. Also added mix of peanut butter and honey to the middle of batter (from peanut butter honey brownies recipe) - so glad I did but they do have a great chocolate taste even without. Love that I can use organic ingredients & used organic cocao powder -- no more boxes for me! Husband says these are 10x better!! also, thanks for tip to mix chocolate chips in flour before adding so they don't sink - worked perfectly. Brownies do crumble a little but think they'll set up fine overnight. When they taste this good, nobody would really care anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
These were good. A bit cake like as other reviewers mentioned. Made a second batch and used 1/2 cup brown sugar. I added a heaping teaspoon of espresso powder and it was just what this recipe was missing. The brownies were more chewy and had a richer chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Wonderful!! I was looking for a recipe to use up some self-rising flour, and to use flax meal as an egg substitute. I used a little less sugar (3/4C) and replaced one of the eggs with flax meal/water. The batter was tasty, and I had to cut into them as soon as they were cooled enough. They are so good!! A great quick and easy brownie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I added peanut butter chips instead of nuts, oh my!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kavivkc
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
I only use 1/2 cup white sugar. The brownies still delicious. I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Use regular all-purpose flour and add 1/4 tsp. baking powder, and you've got "Best Brownies" from this site. No wonder I liked these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Love these brownies. Only brownie recipe I've ever liked trying to make them from scratch. HOWEVER....at least DOUBLE the recipe. If you double the recipe in a 8x8 they are what I would consider normal brownie depth otherwise hardly even the depth of a 'bar'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Momma 6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
First time I ever made brownies from scratch. I doubled the recipe, opted for the walnuts and used a 9x13x2 Calphalon non-stick pan. In lieu of greasing and flouring the pan, I used waxed paper which appeared to have done the trick, no stick whatsoever, but I still wonder why I had to do that if the pan is of the non-stick variety? The only other variation was I used self-rising flour, Dutch-processed Ghiradelli cocoa and after baking sprinkled a hefty portion of Ghiradelli semi-sweet chocolate chips on top, stuck the pan back in the oven for a minute, removed and spread the melted chips over the brownies. All equalled great brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These came out pretty well! Not mind-blowing, but a lot better than most of the other highly-rated brownie recipes I've found on this site. These actually were kind of fudge-like. I added some chocolate chips and they came out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I just made these tonight and they were delicious. I added some chocolate chips. I also underbaked them by 5 minutes and they were just right. Whipped them up in like 10 minutes. Gotta try 'em!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigglebox

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolutely the Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

Try these addictive cookies, featuring milk-chocolate chips. Mmm.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States