Absolutely Awesome BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I love this sauce. It is sweet and spicy and tastes great on chicken. I will say that when making this I was forced to use Southern Comfort instead of rum due to an innovatory mix up with the Hubby and instead of chili sauce I used Valentina brand Mexican Hot sauce as a substitution, (I really had no idea what was in my kitchen when I started cooking.) I was worried about how it would turn out, but I was really surprised on how good it is. I will try it with the rum, but I feel that I will fall back on the SoCo for certain foods. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I absolutely HATE anything bbq, but a friend of mine used this recipe and I wanted to drink the sauce it was soooo good. Finally, I got to steal the recipe (insert evil laugh here) and it will DEFINITELY be one of the top items in my restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I agree, when I want to impress my company, I just whip this bbq sauce together and listen to the lips start smakin... Thanks, this is one of the best I have tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is one of the best BBQ sauce I have ever had! Like most people said, it was really way too sweet using a cup of brown sugar. I will definitely cut it in half next time. I also skipped the rum and any other alcoholic beverage. It still tastes fantastic! I turned up the heat to a medium-low so I could get a little boiling action going to thicken a sauce a bit. This is great with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved the recipe...gave it 4 stars, because for my taste a full cup of brown sugar is extremely sweet. Just my taste. I cut the brown sugar to a half a cup, used Tennessee whiskey instead of rum (all I had on hand). Very interesting flavor....a darker, thicker sauce, simular to "store bought" consistency. I did add a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne for some heat. Again this sauce is very good, I like the chili sauce in the recipe.....very good on a pulled pork sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great sauce! Goes well with pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This sauce is tasty but far from the "best I've ever had" which soaks these review as much as the rum does your meat from this recipe. And that's just why, in my opinion, this sauce doesn't deserve the five stars many give it. The rum is just too strong in this recipe. Backing it off by a quarter, if not a half, will go a long way in making this better. Thickening it up with more ketchup will help, too. This isn't a terrible BBQ sauce, not by any means, it's very good and tasty when the right amount of alcohol is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven Rafferty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Well, I screwed up this recipe and used Thai chili sauce instead of regular. Not what I was wanting but tastes great but with an asain twist! Am saving it to use on grilled chix next week. Now my husbands off to buy regular chili sauce so I can make regular BBQ sauce for my pulled pork for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good, very easy. Had all the ingredients on hand (helps to have a rum drinker in the house) and cooks in no time. I'm curious to try it with maybe bourbon. This is a sweet bbq sauce, if you're looking for more tomatoey or vinegary this isn't it but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
this was awesome the only thing i did different was that i used jack daniels my husband says" no more bottled bbq sauce for us" thanks for great receipe (since the first reriew i have changed a few things now everyone is askin me for the receipe )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States