Absolutely Awesome BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I liked the underlying flavors, but I found it to be way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Bender

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
This was delicious and very easy to make. Used on grilled pork chops and veggie burgers, and it was good on both. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Just made some for my pulled pork.I also used garlic powder.Also added a few drops of Liquid Smoke and chili flakes.This is the best homemade sauce,and as one reviewer suggested,I should have made a double batch....sooooo goooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crowderpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I love this sauce. It is sweet and spicy and tastes great on chicken. I will say that when making this I was forced to use Southern Comfort instead of rum due to an innovatory mix up with the Hubby and instead of chili sauce I used Valentina brand Mexican Hot sauce as a substitution, (I really had no idea what was in my kitchen when I started cooking.) I was worried about how it would turn out, but I was really surprised on how good it is. I will try it with the rum, but I feel that I will fall back on the SoCo for certain foods. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I absolutely HATE anything bbq, but a friend of mine used this recipe and I wanted to drink the sauce it was soooo good. Finally, I got to steal the recipe (insert evil laugh here) and it will DEFINITELY be one of the top items in my restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Kidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
I agree, when I want to impress my company, I just whip this bbq sauce together and listen to the lips start smakin... Thanks, this is one of the best I have tried...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is one of the best BBQ sauce I have ever had! Like most people said, it was really way too sweet using a cup of brown sugar. I will definitely cut it in half next time. I also skipped the rum and any other alcoholic beverage. It still tastes fantastic! I turned up the heat to a medium-low so I could get a little boiling action going to thicken a sauce a bit. This is great with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved the recipe...gave it 4 stars, because for my taste a full cup of brown sugar is extremely sweet. Just my taste. I cut the brown sugar to a half a cup, used Tennessee whiskey instead of rum (all I had on hand). Very interesting flavor....a darker, thicker sauce, simular to "store bought" consistency. I did add a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne for some heat. Again this sauce is very good, I like the chili sauce in the recipe.....very good on a pulled pork sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great sauce! Goes well with pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This sauce is tasty but far from the "best I've ever had" which soaks these review as much as the rum does your meat from this recipe. And that's just why, in my opinion, this sauce doesn't deserve the five stars many give it. The rum is just too strong in this recipe. Backing it off by a quarter, if not a half, will go a long way in making this better. Thickening it up with more ketchup will help, too. This isn't a terrible BBQ sauce, not by any means, it's very good and tasty when the right amount of alcohol is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven Rafferty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States