Absolutely Awesome BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
Finally, the perfect bbq sauce. We prefer to substitute bourbon for rum, and be sure to use LOW SODIUM soy sauce. It's very quick and easy to make. Everyone raved over the pork bbq; I just placed a pork loin into the crock pot, poured the bbq sauce over, and let it cook for hours. Made a side of homemade coleslaw, and we were livin'! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
Wow this is the best BBQ sauce recipe I have ever made! I used it on ribs and I am sold - all the other recipes I have for BBQ sauce are out the door as this one is the one I will use for ever! I would like to offer an update to a couple comments received from the reviewers. 1) This is a sweeter sauce feel free to reduce the amount of brown sugar; may even consider replacing some of the brown sugar with honey. For those with a concern of it being too thin, I have placed it on the stove bringing, it to a boil then simmering until you get your desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shannon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
For years I have been developing new BBQ sauce recipes and looking at existing ones. I have jsut tried it and served it with Baby Back Ribs- I doubled the recipe because there never is enough sauce. Here is what I canged: Used Myers Dark Rum- excellent flavor and color, and I added an 8 oz can of drained crushed pineapple. No juice- just the pineapple. Simmered for 30 minutes, cooled it and used it. Superb!!!! A new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
This is one of the best BBQ sauce I have ever had! Like most people said, it was really way too sweet using a cup of brown sugar. I will definitely cut it in half next time. I also skipped the rum and any other alcoholic beverage. It still tastes fantastic! I turned up the heat to a medium-low so I could get a little boiling action going to thicken a sauce a bit. This is great with chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
thanks joel...this sauce is truly amazing! made it last weekend with chicken and this weekend substituted bourbon for the rum and kept all other ingredients the same and used for sparibs. outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Just made some for my pulled pork.I also used garlic powder.Also added a few drops of Liquid Smoke and chili flakes.This is the best homemade sauce,and as one reviewer suggested,I should have made a double batch....sooooo goooood
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crowderpea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is the BBQ sauce I grew up on. My dad would make this all the time on his ribs! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streamwood, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
The only reason this didn't get 5*'s is because it is soooooo salty! Otherwise, the flavor is excellent - I will try again with reduced sodium soy and see if it makes a difference. Otherwise, incredibly easy and quick to make. I love dark rum in this for flavor. I used 1 tsp garlic powder prepared yellow mustard. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Absolutely Awesome is right! I made this for my husband and he said it was by far the best bbq sauce he has ever tasted. I actually put it on top of salmon and the bbq sauce complimented it perfectly...can't wait to try it on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is excellent! I minced one of the garlic cloves, and diced the other for the texture. Also, I recommend the dark rum and 1/8 tsp Cayenne pepper for a little heat. This is wonderful on chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States