Absolutely Awesome BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Loved the recipe...gave it 4 stars, because for my taste a full cup of brown sugar is extremely sweet. Just my taste. I cut the brown sugar to a half a cup, used Tennessee whiskey instead of rum (all I had on hand). Very interesting flavor....a darker, thicker sauce, simular to "store bought" consistency. I did add a 1/4 teaspoon of cayenne for some heat. Again this sauce is very good, I like the chili sauce in the recipe.....very good on a pulled pork sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tuscaloosa, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2010
Great sauce! Goes well with pork and chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Polo, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This sauce is tasty but far from the "best I've ever had" which soaks these review as much as the rum does your meat from this recipe. And that's just why, in my opinion, this sauce doesn't deserve the five stars many give it. The rum is just too strong in this recipe. Backing it off by a quarter, if not a half, will go a long way in making this better. Thickening it up with more ketchup will help, too. This isn't a terrible BBQ sauce, not by any means, it's very good and tasty when the right amount of alcohol is added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sven Rafferty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Well, I screwed up this recipe and used Thai chili sauce instead of regular. Not what I was wanting but tastes great but with an asain twist! Am saving it to use on grilled chix next week. Now my husbands off to buy regular chili sauce so I can make regular BBQ sauce for my pulled pork for tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcooking1

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Very good, very easy. Had all the ingredients on hand (helps to have a rum drinker in the house) and cooks in no time. I'm curious to try it with maybe bourbon. This is a sweet bbq sauce, if you're looking for more tomatoey or vinegary this isn't it but it is really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
this was awesome the only thing i did different was that i used jack daniels my husband says" no more bottled bbq sauce for us" thanks for great receipe (since the first reriew i have changed a few things now everyone is askin me for the receipe )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
This was my first time making bbq sauce, and I was very pleased! I find it to be a bit sweet, but me and the wife loved it on pulled pork sandwiches. I've read a few of the reviews, and next time might just try tweaking the recipe a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
My hubby loved this sauce! I made pork in the crockpot, and then after draining and shredding it, I put it back in with THIS sauce, and OMG! My hubby couldn't get enough! We didnt have the chili sauce or mustard, but we added some rice vinegar a bit more ketchup and some more spices. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The name says it all and then some! I made it last nite for a back rib dinner. It's one of our fav foods. Well I can tell you that we don't want any other sauce, bought or homemade. One of our sons always had to have Bulls Eye, but no more. Next time I'll try it on chicken breasts and meatballs. Thanks Joel for a fabulous recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East St. Paul, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This sauce is great. I didn't have any chilli sauce so I used Franks hot sauce and only about a 1/4 cup and it still has a nice after bit. This is a good simple sauce for anyone trying to make their own bbq. I couldn't stop tasting while cooking it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Ohio, USA
Living In: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States