Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is the first review that I have written and unfortunately it has to be a negative one. I should have read the other reviews. Of course this was moist, it was the greasiest thing I have ever made and by just touching the bread, it stuck to my hands. This recipe includes way too much fat to be necessary...the butter is overboard and fat free cheese is okay...I also added corn niblets. I made this for the Fourth of July but ended up having to make another batch from BETTER HOMES & GARDENS COOKBOOK (excellent moist and firm recipe by the way!) the morning of the BBQ. this was a huge, disappointment. Especially since this is my first problem with a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
We couldn't get enough of this cornbread. I just took it out of the oven 15 minutes ago and it is half gone! I cut down the butter to only 6 tablespoons and the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also added extra jalepenos and cheese and a dash of cayenne pepper. It turned out perfect - moist but not greasy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I followed this recipe to the "T" and it had WAY too much butter in it! it should of had at least half of what it called for. hubby said it was good but way too greasy and refused to eat the rest of that BIG pan so it got thrown away, so be careful about the butter it was way too greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This bread was fantastic. I read all the other reviews and decided to cut the butter in half. Also, instead of 1 cup of sugar, I added only 3/4 cups and it came out wonderfully. I served it with other Mexican food and this was a hit to all of my guests. It was even better then next day after all the flavors melded. This one can be made ahead. I am keeping it and passing it on. I had several people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Oh my!!! Way too much butter.... A 1/2 cup of butter was sufficient and the bread was still moist. Added diced red peppers, 1/2 tsp onion powder and corn OFF the cob that had been grilled. To give the bread more complexity and a little more zip, use Pepperjack cheese in place of the Monterey Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
180 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My husband loved this cornbread. I didn't have any cornmeal so I just used 2 boxes of Jiffy corn bread mix. I made the cornbread up like on the box and added the cheeses and chiles. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the best! I substituted the last four ingredients for Jiffy Brand cornbread mix and added a pinch of onion and garlic powders. Easy and VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is the BEST cornbread recipie i've come across!!!...I made it for my friends at work and they couldn't get enough of it!!!!...If you like a sweet, but not TOO sweet corn bread that is oh so moist, THIS is it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNIFERKATIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very moist and delicious !!! I added chopped hot pickled peppers, a little more cheese and 1/4 cup green onions. I cut the butter by half and used only about 3/4 of the sugar. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This cornbread was good albeit a bit too sweet. I served it with "Beezie's Black Bean Soup" and it would've tasted better if it was more savoury rather than sweet. But all in all, it was very enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States