Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
This is the first review that I have written and unfortunately it has to be a negative one. I should have read the other reviews. Of course this was moist, it was the greasiest thing I have ever made and by just touching the bread, it stuck to my hands. This recipe includes way too much fat to be necessary...the butter is overboard and fat free cheese is okay...I also added corn niblets. I made this for the Fourth of July but ended up having to make another batch from BETTER HOMES & GARDENS COOKBOOK (excellent moist and firm recipe by the way!) the morning of the BBQ. this was a huge, disappointment. Especially since this is my first problem with a recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
448 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
We couldn't get enough of this cornbread. I just took it out of the oven 15 minutes ago and it is half gone! I cut down the butter to only 6 tablespoons and the sugar to 1/3 cup. I also added extra jalepenos and cheese and a dash of cayenne pepper. It turned out perfect - moist but not greasy and very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
371 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I followed this recipe to the "T" and it had WAY too much butter in it! it should of had at least half of what it called for. hubby said it was good but way too greasy and refused to eat the rest of that BIG pan so it got thrown away, so be careful about the butter it was way too greasy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
293 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
This bread was fantastic. I read all the other reviews and decided to cut the butter in half. Also, instead of 1 cup of sugar, I added only 3/4 cups and it came out wonderfully. I served it with other Mexican food and this was a hit to all of my guests. It was even better then next day after all the flavors melded. This one can be made ahead. I am keeping it and passing it on. I had several people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Oh my!!! Way too much butter.... A 1/2 cup of butter was sufficient and the bread was still moist. Added diced red peppers, 1/2 tsp onion powder and corn OFF the cob that had been grilled. To give the bread more complexity and a little more zip, use Pepperjack cheese in place of the Monterey Jack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2003
My husband loved this cornbread. I didn't have any cornmeal so I just used 2 boxes of Jiffy corn bread mix. I made the cornbread up like on the box and added the cheeses and chiles. Turned out great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
148 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by QueenT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brazil, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This is the best! I substituted the last four ingredients for Jiffy Brand cornbread mix and added a pinch of onion and garlic powders. Easy and VERY delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is the BEST cornbread recipie i've come across!!!...I made it for my friends at work and they couldn't get enough of it!!!!...If you like a sweet, but not TOO sweet corn bread that is oh so moist, THIS is it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferandRichmond Harris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Very moist and delicious !!! I added chopped hot pickled peppers, a little more cheese and 1/4 cup green onions. I cut the butter by half and used only about 3/4 of the sugar. Thanks for a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
After reading all other reviews I decided it would be best to cut back on the amount of butter to 1/2 cup. I also adjusted the sugar to 3/4 cup, added fresh, sweet corn along with the can cream-style corn. Instead of green chile peppers I added some fresh diced red, green, and orange bell peppers for added color. I also threw in a generous handful of mexican blend cheese. It did not take long to prep and mix all of the ingredients together. I poured the batter into the greased 9x13 pan and it was done in one hour. The cornbread looked so pretty with all the colorful array of bell peppers peeking out from the top, sides and underneath the bread(see my picture). The corn niblets, which was also visible, was sweet and added a nice tender crunch factor. The bread was a nice yellow color with golden crispy edges. As soon as I took my first bite, I noticed that it was indeed moist and sweet- full of good flavor. The cornbread was not greasy and oily to the touch. I am so glad that I cut down on the amount of butter otherwise I probably would have ended up with a mouthful of butter. I am sure if you added pepper jack cheese it would have given this a nice boost of flavor and kick. I am so happy this cornbread turned out buttery sweet, moist and delicious. This paired perfectly with the, "Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup," also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 909) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States