Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made exactly as stated, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Does NOT need 2 sticks of butter - 1 is sufficient. Used full 4 oz can chilies and only 3/4 cup sugar (may cut back to 1/2 next time). Very moist and family liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My 3y/o grandson fell in love with this cornbread...make it for him often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fantastic! Enjoyed by all... Easy to make, not dry or heavy! Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Outstanding!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe! I've made it 3 times. I used jalopanos instead of green chiles. I also cut down on the sugar (i only used 3/4C) and butter (i only used 3/4C) as it was originally a bit too sweet and greasy. After making those simple changes the cornbread was PERFECT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My granddaughter is married to a Latin gentleman who loves authentic Mexican food; he raves about this recipe. Every time we have a family gathering, he asks me to make this cornbread, and, if there are leftovers, he always takes them home with him. I felt that 1 cup of butter was unnecessary, so I cut it in half, and the bread is still tender and moist. I generally use the Kraft Mexican Cheddar Jack shredded cheese so I don't have to buy two different cheeses, but any blend of Mexican cheese works equally well as a replacement for the Cheddar and Monterey Jack. This recipe made it into my "lifetime favorites" recipe book, because it is so popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Ok, this IS the BEST cornbread. My entire family always asks for this when we have any beans, peas, soups, chili, etc.... I did omit the chili peppers and used canned jalepanos from our garden. I slice them up pretty thin, about 1/4 cup (they are hot). Also, I use a Wilton Mini-Loaf pan to bake them in. (9 individual servings of the cornbread for each pan) I usually fill two pans with this recipe. Try this recipe, you will not be disappointed! Such a croud pleaser at social gatherings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanncrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Too sweet. The sugar overpowered the flavor of the cheese and chiles. I would reccommened cutting the sugar to a couple of tablespoons. I would also reduce the butter to a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States