Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
BEST EVER! I WILL NEVER USE OTHER RECIPES FOR CORNBREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is my go to cornbread recipe. The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
OMG - I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! As always, I read the other reviews before making this and decided not to change the amount of the butter and sugar this time but next time will probably cut the amount of butter and sugar. I didn't have cream corn so I substituted a 12-oz bag of frozen corn and about 1/2 cup fat-free half & half. I used the juice from the chilies and a 4-cheese Mexican blend. This went so well with chili - my only complaint was that I ate so much corn bread, I couldn't finish my chili! Next time I'm going to add some diced jalapenos to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've been making this cornbread for nearly a decade. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and instead of green chiles I use an entire can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles, pressed through a strainer to drain as much liquid as possible. It never fails to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good. I didn't have any yellow cornmeal mix so I skipped the flour and baking powder and just used self-rising cornmeal mix. Texture was fine with the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is great cornbread. I left out the peppers, 1/2 the sugar and butter and it was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Thanks to all the reviewers who suggested halving the butter. I left out the sugar completely, added finely chopped smoked ham & sun-dried tomatoes & a little finely grated pecorino & it tastes wonderful! I had about four pieces to "taste test" it! Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Really a fantastic addition to chilli, etc. I did as others did and halved the butter and 3/4 c sugar. Just the right amount of sweet and salty. Recvd lots of compliments from those who like peppers/spicier foods ...not that this is in the least spicy. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've been making this recipe for the past year and my whole family loves it. The only suggestion I would give is to cut down on the butter. Give it a try and it will become a regular in your family gatherings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love this cornbread! I followed the other suggestions and cut the butter in half and it was perfect! I also used fresh green chili peppers instead of canned and they added the perfect little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States