Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I know people hate adjusted reviews but this was excellent (like my picky toddler ate 3 kind of excellent) after I made changes other reviewers made. Used ½ a cup of butter and ¾ a cup of sugar. Don't know about others but I hand mixed the batter with my trusty wooden spoon - I'm a snob about never using a mixer for cornbread. Next time I’ll add the whole can of peppers as I do love a green pepper and the flavor wasn’t really there for me when I only used half the can. Liberally sprayed my muffin pan with baking spray and put just over 1/8 of a cup in each tin. Baked at 325 for about 20 min but my stove is new and strong so the baking time may vary. In all I wound up with 24 wonderful little corn breads. We ate half with dinner and I put the other half in the freezer for another day. This is definitely going to be something I’ll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe and I love it! I had to laugh cause when I made it, my son thought it was just another bean, potato,& cornbread meal and he is not a fan of cornbread. One slice of this and he is now asking me to make it every time I'm in the kitchen cooking. It's the best cornbread I've ever made...Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Based on the comments I made some changes. I cut the butter and sugar in half. I also used fresh jalapeño peppers instead of canned chillies. It was delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This cornbread is delicious. I like it sweet and buttery. If you don't, add less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe got mixed reviews in our family. In the end the left overs weren't eaten though and we found that because it was so moist it spoiled really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shaina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Astor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
From the flirts time I made this cornbread my family loved it! My family requests this all the time. For my grandsons 18th birthday that's all he wanted! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I have never made cornbread and this recipe looked easy. It was excellent. The next batch, I will lighten the butter, add sliced jalapenos,and a dash of some hot sauce! Thank you poster for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. There is way too much sugar and not nearly the amount of peppers needed to make good mexican cornbread. I once made some from scatch and did not use a recipe and it was much better than this bread. Moist it is, mexicany it is not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I made the same mistake as a few others and made this cornbread without reading the other reviews. I thought a cup of butter sounded like a lot, but ignored my suspicions and followed the recipe. Well, it is good, but you can taste the butter. I don't imagine that is the intent. It is also very greasy as the other negative/mediocre reviews claim. Now I know to check the reviews the next time I decide to go with a recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 908) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States