Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The high rating really misled me. I didn't have time to read the reviews to see how people adapted this recipe to make it a 4 1/2 star rating. I didn't have all the butter, so I cut back on it a little. I had to double the recipe for a dinner we were going to. After baking an hour, it was a soupy mess. After another 45 minutes it was better but sitting in grease. My husband tasted it and said that it had really good flavor as his hands were covered in butter.I had to come up with something at the last minute. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scottye Crawford Lee
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Good Mexican cornbread. I used half the sugar and I'm glad I did. Next time I'll use half the butter. As it was, it was moist and had just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used white cornmeal because I didn't have yellow. I also forgot to drain the chiles. Neither change seemed to change the turnout...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
BEST CORNBREAD EVER!!!! Ever since I found this recipe and took it to several get-togethers, it is by far the most requested item that I am asked bring. Simply delicious, especially if you like sweet cornbreads. My husband eats it as a dessert a lot of times! Great with soups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Oh, my gosh, this is sooooo good. I did take the suggestions made by others to cut butter and sugar by half. This is the best cornbread I have ever eaten and my husband loved it, too. This will be a staple side for the many Mexican meals I cook. Thank you, Judy, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. The recipe needs 2x the amount of salt and I will try it with a little bit of jalapeño next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ala
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I know people hate adjusted reviews but this was excellent (like my picky toddler ate 3 kind of excellent) after I made changes other reviewers made. Used ½ a cup of butter and ¾ a cup of sugar. Don't know about others but I hand mixed the batter with my trusty wooden spoon - I'm a snob about never using a mixer for cornbread. Next time I’ll add the whole can of peppers as I do love a green pepper and the flavor wasn’t really there for me when I only used half the can. Liberally sprayed my muffin pan with baking spray and put just over 1/8 of a cup in each tin. Baked at 325 for about 20 min but my stove is new and strong so the baking time may vary. In all I wound up with 24 wonderful little corn breads. We ate half with dinner and I put the other half in the freezer for another day. This is definitely going to be something I’ll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe and I love it! I had to laugh cause when I made it, my son thought it was just another bean, potato,& cornbread meal and he is not a fan of cornbread. One slice of this and he is now asking me to make it every time I'm in the kitchen cooking. It's the best cornbread I've ever made...Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Based on the comments I made some changes. I cut the butter and sugar in half. I also used fresh jalapeño peppers instead of canned chillies. It was delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States