Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This cornbread was fabulous. My son does not like cornbread but he ate almost all of it up. I tweaked it a little. I chopped up a whole can of jalapeno peppers into the recipe and added a little more cheese. I took the suggestions of others and used a little less butter. Thank you for this delightful recipe Judy. I would give it 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We loved this cornbread, but agree with some reviewers who say it goes a bit overboard on the butter. Next time we'll cut back somewhat (and could probably go with less sugar as well). We didn't have canned chiles, so chopped up a few large jalapenos and sauted them in a little olive oil for a few minutes. This really added some zing, and we'd definitely do the same thing when making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mpouliot34
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made homemade cornbread for the first time tonight. I could not find my baking powder so I substituted a small amount of Instant Yeast. I also only used 1/2 cup of butter and being I have small kids I added only 4 slices of jalapeno chopped real small. It tasted really good just didn't fluff up much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really Good....Similar To Jim and Nicks Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was so delicious! I only used 3/4cup butter and 1/2cup sugar. I also added about 1/2tsp of cayenne pepper for a little extra kick! I cooked it in an iron skillet at 425 for about 25 minutes. Yes, it may be high in fat but I don't consider it a meal. Although I could, I'm not going to eat the entire pan. Good for the occasional treat! I will definitely makes this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
If anyone says this isn't good? They probably just didn't follow directions correctly! I don't remember ever even liking cornbread until we made this 1 & it's a hit w/everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really good. First time baking it; the cornbread was too moist. Not sure why, but it was done. Still quite good, and we certainly scarfed it down. I'm thinking you could make this in a 9x9 pan for thicker bread; will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good tasty moist cornbread. However, too sweet for a dinner bread, and way too much fat. Cut these back to less than half the amount, and it's still scrumptious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Moist, dense, sinfully good. I leave out the chile peppers because I am not a fan of them. We make this at least once a season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. I like others just used 2 boxes of jiffy cornbread mix. I wanted to make a whole meal out of it, so I browned 2 lbs. hamburger meat, drained, and added taco seasoning per package directions and added it to the mixture. Baked right up into a wonderful easy dinner! LOVE IT! Also, avoid the chili's if adding the taco mix if you don't like spicy food. The first time we made it we used both and the kids wouldn't touch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 902) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States