Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
Great recipe. A few things I changed was using only 1/2 the butter, very important. Next time I'll only use 1/3. I used 1 1/2 cup of just cheddar cheese and instead of cream corn 1/4 cup of buttermilk and a can of corn. I only used 2/3 cup of sugar as well. This was amazing and makes plenty enough for leftovers. Nomnomnom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJackson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clinton, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My husband said I'm never allowed to make any other cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I have to say I love this recipe. I have made this numerous times over the past couple years. The only thing I do different is substitute the green chilies for Ro-Tel Diced Tomatoes and Green Chilies. Try this cornbread it is amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Derek Crawford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
When butter is only 1/2 c. and no chilis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
After reading all other reviews I decided it would be best to cut back on the amount of butter to 1/2 cup. I also adjusted the sugar to 3/4 cup, added fresh, sweet corn along with the can cream-style corn. Instead of green chile peppers I added some fresh diced red, green, and orange bell peppers for added color. I also threw in a generous handful of mexican blend cheese. It did not take long to prep and mix all of the ingredients together. I poured the batter into the greased 9x13 pan and it was done in one hour. The cornbread looked so pretty with all the colorful array of bell peppers peeking out from the top, sides and underneath the bread(see my picture). The corn niblets, which was also visible, was sweet and added a nice tender crunch factor. The bread was a nice yellow color with golden crispy edges. As soon as I took my first bite, I noticed that it was indeed moist and sweet- full of good flavor. The cornbread was not greasy and oily to the touch. I am so glad that I cut down on the amount of butter otherwise I probably would have ended up with a mouthful of butter. I am sure if you added pepper jack cheese it would have given this a nice boost of flavor and kick. I am so happy this cornbread turned out buttery sweet, moist and delicious. This paired perfectly with the, "Slow Cooker Chicken Taco Soup," also from AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
I thought this was great. I appreciated the moistness of the cornbread. There is nothing worse than super dry cornbread that you choke on. This was def. not a healthy recipe but DUH you are eating CORNBREAD. As a once in awhile thing, it's just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Absolute favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Sonnenberg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owatonna, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Farmington, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly. It was out of this world. I just made it for the second time. So moist... My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
This is a very rich cornbread. If you are accustomed to putting butter on your cornbread, you won't want to with this one. This was a big hit with dinner guests. My husband, who was raised in the South, says this isn't like "real" cornbread and maybe it's not, but I think most people will love it anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring Grove, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States