Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
This recipe was just ok. I would agree with the other reviews and say this was way to sweet. I was a little disappointed :( I remember eating Mexican style cornbread in California and it was amazing. wish i could have gotten the same from this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
We loved this recipe! So good, thank you for sharing. I did not sub any ingredients. I did increase the temp to 350 because I was short on time. Came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great recipe, thanks. I use vegetarian butter, brown sugar (and less than in the recipe) to make the bread healthier. I use pepper Jack as well per somebody's advice here, instead of other cheeses. It makes the bread just a bit spicy. Otherwise, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarao479
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Eh, it was good. Not what I expected, but it was worth the try. It tastes like it was missing something..I'm just not sure what. Hubby liked it and that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarao479

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is ultimately one of the cornbread recipe I seem to have been looking for although I never knew it. I like a cornbread that's more like a cake, sweet & light, not heavy or dense or worse = dry! This is good. Might half the sugar since I like to eat my cornbread crumbled up in my beans, but this was really good! Worth a try and very much worth a recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Loved it! I added jalapeño peppers, sweet & spicy...yum! Next time I will use half the butter in the recipe then melt the other half to top it off when it's fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I just made this recipe, before reading the reviews. It came out perfect. Thank you! There is a trick to corn bread, light mixing. The emulsification was perfect, not greasy at all and I used real butter! Sorry to y'all who had a bad experience with this recipe. The El Torito Bartender said it taste like there corn cakes recipe, I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just made my first pan of these cornmeal muffins,the only thing i did different was cut the butter back to 2/3 cup and the same for the sugar, my friend Libby said you should use the full butter that is called for in any cornmeal recipe. These were great, my husband ate 4 peices while still warm, they were not greasy as alot of reviewers said, next time i will put the full cup of butter in, but i think 2/3 cup of sugar was sweet enough though, my husband can't eat anything too hot or spicy so instead of the chile peppers i put in a pinch of red pepper flakes. A great recipe, give it a try without cutting back on the butter too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Just made this cornbread with Chili Rick chili and the cornbread was amazing. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States