Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
Great recipe, thanks. I use vegetarian butter, brown sugar (and less than in the recipe) to make the bread healthier. I use pepper Jack as well per somebody's advice here, instead of other cheeses. It makes the bread just a bit spicy. Otherwise, great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tarao479
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Eh, it was good. Not what I expected, but it was worth the try. It tastes like it was missing something..I'm just not sure what. Hubby liked it and that's all that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarao479

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
This is ultimately one of the cornbread recipe I seem to have been looking for although I never knew it. I like a cornbread that's more like a cake, sweet & light, not heavy or dense or worse = dry! This is good. Might half the sugar since I like to eat my cornbread crumbled up in my beans, but this was really good! Worth a try and very much worth a recommendation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Noble, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Loved it! I added jalapeño peppers, sweet & spicy...yum! Next time I will use half the butter in the recipe then melt the other half to top it off when it's fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I just made this recipe, before reading the reviews. It came out perfect. Thank you! There is a trick to corn bread, light mixing. The emulsification was perfect, not greasy at all and I used real butter! Sorry to y'all who had a bad experience with this recipe. The El Torito Bartender said it taste like there corn cakes recipe, I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I just made my first pan of these cornmeal muffins,the only thing i did different was cut the butter back to 2/3 cup and the same for the sugar, my friend Libby said you should use the full butter that is called for in any cornmeal recipe. These were great, my husband ate 4 peices while still warm, they were not greasy as alot of reviewers said, next time i will put the full cup of butter in, but i think 2/3 cup of sugar was sweet enough though, my husband can't eat anything too hot or spicy so instead of the chile peppers i put in a pinch of red pepper flakes. A great recipe, give it a try without cutting back on the butter too much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadene

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Just made this cornbread with Chili Rick chili and the cornbread was amazing. Thanks for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I made the corn bread for my co-workers, and boy did they enjoyed it!! I followed the recipe, but I only used 1/2 cup of butter and 3/4 cup of sugar. It turned out awesome!! I also put the batter into (large) paper muffin cups. Baked for about 30 minutes!! A perfect size for a delicous bowl of chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 881) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States