Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As others have suggested, I halved the butter and the cornbread was moist and delicious. I should add that I substituted finely diced jalapeno for chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious, even though I didn't have all ingredients & had to sub fresh chili, 1 can of corn & fresh corn. My cornbread hating husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Enjoyed the recipe! I've made it twice already and each time it was fabulous. For me, I didn't have a problem with the amount of butter so I'll stick to what the recipe states. Second time, I forgot to restock my pantry with cream of corn, so had to improvise with: one can of sweet corn, 1/4 cup milk and a 1/8 sugar. If I do run into that problem again, I'll just omit the extra sugar as it was too sweet that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabbage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very moist and great flavor, i used jalapenos instead of chilis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
With the following modifications this is a 4+ star recipe: cut butter back to 6 tbsp and cut sugar back to 1/3 - 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I'll stick to my regular cornbread recipe that doesn't have sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbbmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was good as far as cornbread goes, but I wanted more Mexican flavors. I did half the butter and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup as others suggested. I think next time I'll add more cheese, maybe even use pepper jack instead of Monterey, and include a diced jalapeno. I did really love the texture of the cream corn. I just think for our tastes I'll jazz it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and replaced 1/2 the butter with bacon grease, as well as added chopped bacon. Makes a great savory breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Like other reviewers, I halved the butter. I'm wondering if it was meant to say 1 stick of butter instead of 1 cup. This corn bread is very good! I will never use a mix again. The only other change I made was to use the full can of drained chilis. It was just moist enough to keep the bread from falling appart when you pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best cornbread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States