Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is very good! Just made it and had a piece fresh out of the oven. I lowered the butter to 3/4 a cup and went with lowfat cheese. Also added a 1/2 cup of mild salsa. I think the family will like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this last week to have with Buffalo chicken chili. A most excellent combination. I'm making it again tonight. However, I took the advice of many reviewers when making this for the first time to reduce the butter to half a cup and the sugar to 3/4 a cup. I will not make that mistake again. By reducing the butter you are taking out the biggest source of moisture. I will admit that I did not include the green chilies as I did not have them and don't particularly care for them. I would imagine they could contribute to moisture as well. Since I won't be using them tonight I will be sure to include the full cup of butter. I will update my review after doing this. Otherwise, this is a great recipe all around. I think the overall taste is highly dependent upon the type of cornmeal you use and how fresh it is. I'm not really sure why anyone would be making this recipe using a prepackaged cornbread mix- it rather defeats the purpose. This is an easy, made-from-scratch, delicious cornbread with a little extra something. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Update: I made this last night with the full amount of butter. It definitely helped. Much moister. My family devoured it. I think next time, and there will definitely be a next time, I will meet half way with the butter. Perhaps 3/4 cup of butter. While the full cup helped make it moister, it may have been a tiny bit too crumbly from "grease". I will not go so far to say this was a greasy bread though. I will keep trying! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very moist and tasted great! I cut the amount of butter and sugar by just a bit and would probably cut the sugar even more next time and add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Corvin Wegner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Fabulous a meal in itself also goes great with Mexican casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. I substituted the cream corn w/ 8oz frozen corn and 8oz sour cream. Also used can of Rotel in lieu of the chiles. So moist and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
This recipe is the BOMB ! Made it with a couple of changes, I used 1/2 cup of butter and 1/2 cup of sugar. Instead of just creamed style corn I used a can of GLORY Skittle Corn. I live in Florida and don't know if Glory products are available everywhere, I found all of their products that I have used have that authentic southern touch to them. I have a neighbor who was born in Georgia and is an excellent cook we took a slab of the corn bread to her and she RAVED about it and wanted the recipe. This will become a staple in my household when the hankering for some southern comfort food arises.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dan Raidt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
this is so good.. Do not try to hurry it, yes it takes an hour to cook. comes out moist and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharris
Home Town: Parma, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Entirely too sweet. :(. Sads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I completely agree with the other reviews that said the recipe should be tweaked by cutting butter by half and cutting sugar to 3/4 cup. I would just go ahead and use the whole can of chiles too. I'd have given this a higher rating had it not been soooooo sweet and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I wish I had more stars to give for this cornbread. I made it to go with chicken enchiladas and it was amazing. My husband said it's the best cornbread he's had in his entire life, and didn't want me to send any of the leftover home with our dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States