Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
Oh, my gosh, this is sooooo good. I did take the suggestions made by others to cut butter and sugar by half. This is the best cornbread I have ever eaten and my husband loved it, too. This will be a staple side for the many Mexican meals I cook. Thank you, Judy, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is a GREAT recipe. The recipe needs 2x the amount of salt and I will try it with a little bit of jalapeño next time. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ala
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I know people hate adjusted reviews but this was excellent (like my picky toddler ate 3 kind of excellent) after I made changes other reviewers made. Used ½ a cup of butter and ¾ a cup of sugar. Don't know about others but I hand mixed the batter with my trusty wooden spoon - I'm a snob about never using a mixer for cornbread. Next time I’ll add the whole can of peppers as I do love a green pepper and the flavor wasn’t really there for me when I only used half the can. Liberally sprayed my muffin pan with baking spray and put just over 1/8 of a cup in each tin. Baked at 325 for about 20 min but my stove is new and strong so the baking time may vary. In all I wound up with 24 wonderful little corn breads. We ate half with dinner and I put the other half in the freezer for another day. This is definitely going to be something I’ll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I made this recipe and I love it! I had to laugh cause when I made it, my son thought it was just another bean, potato,& cornbread meal and he is not a fan of cornbread. One slice of this and he is now asking me to make it every time I'm in the kitchen cooking. It's the best cornbread I've ever made...Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lori James

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Based on the comments I made some changes. I cut the butter and sugar in half. I also used fresh jalapeño peppers instead of canned chillies. It was delicious. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This cornbread is delicious. I like it sweet and buttery. If you don't, add less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This recipe got mixed reviews in our family. In the end the left overs weren't eaten though and we found that because it was so moist it spoiled really fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Astor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
From the flirts time I made this cornbread my family loved it! My family requests this all the time. For my grandsons 18th birthday that's all he wanted! Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States