Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Fantastic! Enjoyed by all... Easy to make, not dry or heavy! Highly recommended!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Outstanding!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I loved this recipe! I've made it 3 times. I used jalopanos instead of green chiles. I also cut down on the sugar (i only used 3/4C) and butter (i only used 3/4C) as it was originally a bit too sweet and greasy. After making those simple changes the cornbread was PERFECT. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
My granddaughter is married to a Latin gentleman who loves authentic Mexican food; he raves about this recipe. Every time we have a family gathering, he asks me to make this cornbread, and, if there are leftovers, he always takes them home with him. I felt that 1 cup of butter was unnecessary, so I cut it in half, and the bread is still tender and moist. I generally use the Kraft Mexican Cheddar Jack shredded cheese so I don't have to buy two different cheeses, but any blend of Mexican cheese works equally well as a replacement for the Cheddar and Monterey Jack. This recipe made it into my "lifetime favorites" recipe book, because it is so popular with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
Ok, this IS the BEST cornbread. My entire family always asks for this when we have any beans, peas, soups, chili, etc.... I did omit the chili peppers and used canned jalepanos from our garden. I slice them up pretty thin, about 1/4 cup (they are hot). Also, I use a Wilton Mini-Loaf pan to bake them in. (9 individual servings of the cornbread for each pan) I usually fill two pans with this recipe. Try this recipe, you will not be disappointed! Such a croud pleaser at social gatherings too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanncrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Too sweet. The sugar overpowered the flavor of the cheese and chiles. I would reccommened cutting the sugar to a couple of tablespoons. I would also reduce the butter to a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made it exactly as is...and thought it was perfect!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was so good! I only used 3/4 cup butter because that's all I had but it turned out fine. I also didn't have any green chile peppers so I had to add a little green taco sauce, but it worked for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Outstanding! Thank you for sharing, Judy! The best (most addictive) cornbread recipe I've ever used. Family and friends loved it. It was a perfect complement to my venison chili. You'll love this cornbread even if you're not a fan of Mexican cuisine. One bite will bring on a good case of cornbread fever (i.e., it'll make your tongue want to slap your eyeballs out of your head - it's THAT good)! I followed the recipe as prescribed, but I couldn't resist adding 4 slices (chopped) of smoked bacon because that's just what I do with cornbread down here in Georgia. The original recipe is so perfect, the bacon did not hurt the taste of the final product.Thanks again, Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe! Did not change anything and turned out great and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States