Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've been making this cornbread for nearly a decade. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and instead of green chiles I use an entire can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles, pressed through a strainer to drain as much liquid as possible. It never fails to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good. I didn't have any yellow cornmeal mix so I skipped the flour and baking powder and just used self-rising cornmeal mix. Texture was fine with the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is great cornbread. I left out the peppers, 1/2 the sugar and butter and it was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Thanks to all the reviewers who suggested halving the butter. I left out the sugar completely, added finely chopped smoked ham & sun-dried tomatoes & a little finely grated pecorino & it tastes wonderful! I had about four pieces to "taste test" it! Thanks for the recipe. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Really a fantastic addition to chilli, etc. I did as others did and halved the butter and 3/4 c sugar. Just the right amount of sweet and salty. Recvd lots of compliments from those who like peppers/spicier foods ...not that this is in the least spicy. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Otsego, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I've been making this recipe for the past year and my whole family loves it. The only suggestion I would give is to cut down on the butter. Give it a try and it will become a regular in your family gatherings :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love this cornbread! I followed the other suggestions and cut the butter in half and it was perfect! I also used fresh green chili peppers instead of canned and they added the perfect little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Easy to make and moist and tasty!! Easy to resize and make in an 8x8 for just 2-3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Yum yum yum!! My husband and some friends couldn't get enough of it. It was incredible- moist with just teh right amount of kick- perfect with chili. Thanks to all the reviews warning about the sugar and butter. I decreased the amounts too- used 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cups sugar. You could use 1/2 cup sugar if you don't like your cornbread very sweet. Instead of cheddar I used pepper Jack (in addition to Monterey Jack). I added 1/2 tsp onion flakes, 1/2 tsp garlic pwdr. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This really is THE best cornbread I've ever tried. Very simple to make and it is SO moist. I didn't have any green chile peppers so I used chopped jalapenos instead and it was great. The kids didn't even complain or inquire about "the little green pieces" in the bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States