Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
I used half the butter they suggested using and it came out perfectly. I would definetley recommend this to anyone looking for an easy, delicious, spicy recipe. I'm looking forward to making this again at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
WOW!!! I didn't even get it out of the oven and the family was asking me to make it again! I will confess that I used 3/4 cup of butter instead of a full cup as the recipie called for. I also rinsed off the peppers to reduce the amount of heat. The only problem I have now is trying to plan a meal around this incredible side dish. It worked well with grilled pork chops and sausages, but I know it will be a part of my Thanksgiving feast as well. Thanks for this incredible dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bardoc61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Florida, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This was by far the best cornbread recipe I have ever made. I just used plain cheddar cheese, added a bunch of sliced spring onions and instead of a can of chilles I added 4 red serano chillis finely sliced. left overs were amazing used as a stuffing base for chicken. I have had so many requests for the recipe. I will never try another. thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! We followed the advice of others with using 1/2c of butter and 1/3 of sugar. We will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe tasted really good. I served it with Chili I. Next time, I will use half the butter as other reviewers have suggested because it was too wet the first day but not so wet the next. Or I will make the day before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Use half the butter! Trust me. I'm a butter lover and this recipe calls for way too much butter. Also, I add roasted, coarsely chopped peppers. This recipe is fabulous! I'm only on here today because I have to print this recipe for about the 20th time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe, especially With the burrito pie recipe on this site. I used 6 tbsp. butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Definitely good on the sugar, but next time I might try 2-3 tablespoons more of butter. Wouldn't use the full amount of sugar or butter like the recipe states, though. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I tried making these into mini muffins...the oven temp of 300 left them too crusty on the outside, yet still a bit undone on the inside. They also did not raise up...looked kinda like hockey pucs. I doubled the baking powder and baked at 375 and things were much better. I greased and floured the tins, but they were still a bit difficult to get out of the pan. Even though I reduced the butter and omitted the cheese they were still greasy. 3/4 cup sugar was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe! Used it to make mini muffins for a party I was hosting, one batch of batter makes 72 mini muffins. I usually add the full can of green chiles and it gives them a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
For a healthier cornbread I substituted 1/2 Cup of olive oil for 1/2 cup of the butter in the recipe. Also cut back the 1 cup of sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar. Served the cornbread to over 100 people who also said it was the best cornbread they have ever tasted. I give this recipe 5 stars! YUM! -jagruti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Harkness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hurleyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States