Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Love this cornbread! I followed the other suggestions and cut the butter in half and it was perfect! I also used fresh green chili peppers instead of canned and they added the perfect little zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Easy to make and moist and tasty!! Easy to resize and make in an 8x8 for just 2-3 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2013
Yum yum yum!! My husband and some friends couldn't get enough of it. It was incredible- moist with just teh right amount of kick- perfect with chili. Thanks to all the reviews warning about the sugar and butter. I decreased the amounts too- used 1/2 cup butter and 3/4 cups sugar. You could use 1/2 cup sugar if you don't like your cornbread very sweet. Instead of cheddar I used pepper Jack (in addition to Monterey Jack). I added 1/2 tsp onion flakes, 1/2 tsp garlic pwdr. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This really is THE best cornbread I've ever tried. Very simple to make and it is SO moist. I didn't have any green chile peppers so I used chopped jalapenos instead and it was great. The kids didn't even complain or inquire about "the little green pieces" in the bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This isn't greasy, its buttery & good !!! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is cuz I don't like sugar in my cornbread..other than that, Its great !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This is a great Mexican corn bread recipe! I guess I don't share the opinion that it has too much butter ... I thought the butter content made it moist on the inside and helped to form a crisp crust on the outside. I didn't have the green chili peppers or creamed corn on hand so I subbed 1 can Mexican corn and 1 can of diced tomatoes and peppers (Rotel). It turned out really great. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I was in a hurry, so I made this without reading the reviews first. I would definitely make this again, but next time I will cut the butter in half and reduce the sugar some. My family doesn't like spicy food, so I did not add the chiles; however, I did add some diced green and red pepper. I also cooked it in a cast-iron skillet. I heated the skillet for about 20 minutes at 450 degrees, took it out, poured in the batter, reduced the temp to 300, and put the skillet back in the oven. This gives the cornbread a nice crispy crust. Cooked for about 50 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Very good! I halved the butter as some other reviewers suggested. My only complaint is that you cannot taste the cheese. Oh and I halved the sugar as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Huber Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I made exactly as stated, everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 884) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States