Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very good, moist version of Mexican Cheesy Cornbread. I cut the sugar and butter in HALF - and didn't lose any of the goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
The only reason I didn't give this 5 stars, is because I DID the cut the butter in half based on other reviews, and only added about 3/4 a cup of sugar. I accidentally cooked it at 350, so it only needed to cook around 40 min at that temperature. I substituted the chiles for jalapenos and only had whole kernel corn on hand. Still turned out fabulous! Made it alongside some vegetable soup and it was delicious. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Like some other folks, I cut back on the butter. Following this recipe and calling it six servings in a 9x13 pan... one would want to make their peace with their deity before packing in all that butter on top of the cheese, just to be on the safe side. I cut the butter and sugar by half (and even then it was still a little sweet) but doubled the jalapenos. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
AWESOME
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was fantastic. I used no butter. I used buttermilk instead and cut the sugar to a couple of tablespoons. I also used a measure for measure Gluten Free Flour (1Cup) and it came out perfect. Cooking time was the same and I used a pre-heated cast iron skillet in the oven. Being a guy I also put bacon pieces in it (highly recommend this!). It was awesome! Thanks for the recipe it reminded me of home in Louisiana, Roger
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
My family loves this bread I think its good but I wouldn't call it a winner. I didn't make any changes I followed the recipe to the letter the 2 times that I've made it and I rarely have left overs. I've made it to go with soup and chili - both times it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Best cornbread recipe I've ever had after I made a few minor mods. As mentioned in other reviews, cut down the butter and sugar by half. I also used a 7oz can of diced green chiles instead of a 4oz can. Other than that, I made it as posted and it was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Excellent recipe. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I agree, this is a little greasy, but it is still the BEST Corn Bread I have ever made. Loved the flavor, and it is moist. So often, if you read the recipe on the side of a corn meal box (which I have), it often comes out dry. I will downsize on the butter next time, but I did find the flavor terrific. This will be my "go to" recipe for Corn Bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I foolishly just looked at the stars and forgot to read reviews first. Way too much sugar and butter. With so many reviewers stating that, it should be changed. I'd also add jalapeño as it has no kick, at least to me, with the green chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 907) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States