Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
If anyone says this isn't good? They probably just didn't follow directions correctly! I don't remember ever even liking cornbread until we made this 1 & it's a hit w/everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really good. First time baking it; the cornbread was too moist. Not sure why, but it was done. Still quite good, and we certainly scarfed it down. I'm thinking you could make this in a 9x9 pan for thicker bread; will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good tasty moist cornbread. However, too sweet for a dinner bread, and way too much fat. Cut these back to less than half the amount, and it's still scrumptious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Moist, dense, sinfully good. I leave out the chile peppers because I am not a fan of them. We make this at least once a season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe. I like others just used 2 boxes of jiffy cornbread mix. I wanted to make a whole meal out of it, so I browned 2 lbs. hamburger meat, drained, and added taco seasoning per package directions and added it to the mixture. Baked right up into a wonderful easy dinner! LOVE IT! Also, avoid the chili's if adding the taco mix if you don't like spicy food. The first time we made it we used both and the kids wouldn't touch it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I made this bread to go with the King Ranch Chicken Casserole 1 recipe from this site. I made it exactly as directed. It was really good, and even my Dad who doesn't like cornbread as a rule said that he liked it! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hubred Sanchez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
excellent i had to change it to half the amount of cream corn since i only had the half size can. i used a full cup of taco blend cheese which is half cheddar half monterey jack. i added a splash of rooster sauce and 1/2 the sugar which was plenty sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
I added chopped pimento, green pepper, and a little green onion. We served it topped with cheddar cheese, sour cream and salsa. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I made this according to the recipe except for 1 thing: I used a can of sweet kernel corn instead of cream style. It did come out very greasy so I will back off the butter next time and I will add some cayenne for more kick. It's very yummy and moist - just the way I like cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Rockwall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I served several guests this as it makes a large pan full. They all loved it and have asked for the recipe. Personally I'd tone down the sugar. It was a bit sweet for our tastes, but that is relative I suppose. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States