Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very moist and great flavor, i used jalapenos instead of chilis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
With the following modifications this is a 4+ star recipe: cut butter back to 6 tbsp and cut sugar back to 1/3 - 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I'll stick to my regular cornbread recipe that doesn't have sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbbmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was good as far as cornbread goes, but I wanted more Mexican flavors. I did half the butter and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup as others suggested. I think next time I'll add more cheese, maybe even use pepper jack instead of Monterey, and include a diced jalapeno. I did really love the texture of the cream corn. I just think for our tastes I'll jazz it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and replaced 1/2 the butter with bacon grease, as well as added chopped bacon. Makes a great savory breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Like other reviewers, I halved the butter. I'm wondering if it was meant to say 1 stick of butter instead of 1 cup. This corn bread is very good! I will never use a mix again. The only other change I made was to use the full can of drained chilis. It was just moist enough to keep the bread from falling appart when you pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best cornbread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This cornbread was very tasty. I followed previous reviews and only used 1/2 cup of butter instead of 1 cup. I thought it came out very nice, maybe add a couple more tablespoons of butter if you like it a little greasy. I served this with a white chili recipe from this site, and the meal was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First time making it, & it was great! I took advice of other reviewers & only used 1/2 cup butter & 3/4 cup sugar, & my husband & I both thought it turned out great. I also think it would be great without the chilis, and/or with more cheddar. Taking to a Cinco de Mayo pitch-in at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my sisiter. I halved the recipe. The amount of butter did not make mine greasy at all. I also used jalapenos instead and made it in a cast iron skillet as well. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States