Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Made it exactly as is...and thought it was perfect!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This was so good! I only used 3/4 cup butter because that's all I had but it turned out fine. I also didn't have any green chile peppers so I had to add a little green taco sauce, but it worked for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennifer_a00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Outstanding! Thank you for sharing, Judy! The best (most addictive) cornbread recipe I've ever used. Family and friends loved it. It was a perfect complement to my venison chili. You'll love this cornbread even if you're not a fan of Mexican cuisine. One bite will bring on a good case of cornbread fever (i.e., it'll make your tongue want to slap your eyeballs out of your head - it's THAT good)! I followed the recipe as prescribed, but I couldn't resist adding 4 slices (chopped) of smoked bacon because that's just what I do with cornbread down here in Georgia. The original recipe is so perfect, the bacon did not hurt the taste of the final product.Thanks again, Judy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe! Did not change anything and turned out great and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Reduced butter to 3/4 c. Butter as other reviewers said to. Only added cayenne pepper as another reviewer stated. Not a good addition. Hot aftertaste for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I, too, agree that it had way to much butter. Ended up throwing it away. I am planning on remaking it before Sunday's Chili meal with half the butter and sugar. Will also add one whole can of chiles instead of 1/2. Hopefully this will make it edible. you could only eat this with a spoon, although it did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tom Laeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimball, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is a five-star recipe for sure. I made it as directed and it was marvelous, but I was raised in South Texas and I'm used to unsweetened Mexican cornbread. I think next time I will at least halve the sugar, as some other reviewers have recommended. I also agree with them that probably only half the butter is necessary. A bit greasy as is, but I will admit I ate every bite! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was wonderful,very moist, maybe a touch too sweet . I added fresh chopped jalepenos and got RAVES for football get together ! Slathered in butter YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Ok, this was sooo good. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the butter in half, also didn't have the can of chillies so used a half a red bell pepper, diced, and some diced green onion. It turned out absolutely delicious, I served it at a party with chilli, many people went back just for the bread, and it went like wildfire. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I'm going to rate this as a 3* because its a nice recipe but not perfect. I love the fact it has chiles and cheese, but the overall effect is a little on the greasy side. Just the right amount of cornmeal. Nice taste, a shame its a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States