Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was good as far as cornbread goes, but I wanted more Mexican flavors. I did half the butter and cut the sugar to 3/4 cup as others suggested. I think next time I'll add more cheese, maybe even use pepper jack instead of Monterey, and include a diced jalapeno. I did really love the texture of the cream corn. I just think for our tastes I'll jazz it up a little next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and replaced 1/2 the butter with bacon grease, as well as added chopped bacon. Makes a great savory breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Like other reviewers, I halved the butter. I'm wondering if it was meant to say 1 stick of butter instead of 1 cup. This corn bread is very good! I will never use a mix again. The only other change I made was to use the full can of drained chilis. It was just moist enough to keep the bread from falling appart when you pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best cornbread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This cornbread was very tasty. I followed previous reviews and only used 1/2 cup of butter instead of 1 cup. I thought it came out very nice, maybe add a couple more tablespoons of butter if you like it a little greasy. I served this with a white chili recipe from this site, and the meal was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First time making it, & it was great! I took advice of other reviewers & only used 1/2 cup butter & 3/4 cup sugar, & my husband & I both thought it turned out great. I also think it would be great without the chilis, and/or with more cheddar. Taking to a Cinco de Mayo pitch-in at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my sisiter. I halved the recipe. The amount of butter did not make mine greasy at all. I also used jalapenos instead and made it in a cast iron skillet as well. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious but def cut butter in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I had never made cornbread before this, now I cant stop. Ive made this recipe with cheese and chilies and ive also tried it with white chocolate and caramel. AWESOMENESS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States