Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Awesome recipe! Did not change anything and turned out great and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
Reduced butter to 3/4 c. Butter as other reviewers said to. Only added cayenne pepper as another reviewer stated. Not a good addition. Hot aftertaste for me and my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
I, too, agree that it had way to much butter. Ended up throwing it away. I am planning on remaking it before Sunday's Chili meal with half the butter and sugar. Will also add one whole can of chiles instead of 1/2. Hopefully this will make it edible. you could only eat this with a spoon, although it did taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tlaeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kimball, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
This is a five-star recipe for sure. I made it as directed and it was marvelous, but I was raised in South Texas and I'm used to unsweetened Mexican cornbread. I think next time I will at least halve the sugar, as some other reviewers have recommended. I also agree with them that probably only half the butter is necessary. A bit greasy as is, but I will admit I ate every bite! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoonPie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
This was wonderful,very moist, maybe a touch too sweet . I added fresh chopped jalepenos and got RAVES for football get together ! Slathered in butter YUM !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Ok, this was sooo good. I took the advice of other reviewers and cut the butter in half, also didn't have the can of chillies so used a half a red bell pepper, diced, and some diced green onion. It turned out absolutely delicious, I served it at a party with chilli, many people went back just for the bread, and it went like wildfire. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I'm going to rate this as a 3* because its a nice recipe but not perfect. I love the fact it has chiles and cheese, but the overall effect is a little on the greasy side. Just the right amount of cornmeal. Nice taste, a shame its a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My step-daughter loves it when I make this cornbread. She eats this by itself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I've made this a few times to go with chili, of course. It makes enough to serve a large group and I'm always surprised at how high it rises up given the number of 'dense' ingredients that could bring it down. I follow the recipe exactly and all my guests have loved it. Nobody has complained of greasiness and they all commented on how moist and flavorful it was. It is sweet, as others have said, and that actually ends up being a nice counterpoint to the spiciness of the chili (I make it Hot) and provides a bit of a cooling element. If you are looking for a more savory bread, you would need to make a few adjustments to satisfy your heat level. But when so many of my friends and guests, with so many different taste preferences, all say it's a winner then the recipe must be doing something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I think its awesome, but double up on the chilies and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States