Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe! Used it to make mini muffins for a party I was hosting, one batch of batter makes 72 mini muffins. I usually add the full can of green chiles and it gives them a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
For a healthier cornbread I substituted 1/2 Cup of olive oil for 1/2 cup of the butter in the recipe. Also cut back the 1 cup of sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar. Served the cornbread to over 100 people who also said it was the best cornbread they have ever tasted. I give this recipe 5 stars! YUM! -jagruti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Harkness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hurleyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Huge hit, super moist and everyone loved it, even my extremely picky boyfriend. I added a little shredded cheese on top right before it came out and it gave it nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as is only cut it in half. Instead of cooking it in the oven though I used our waffle stick maker and they turned out fantastic! It also cut the cooking time down considerably! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
BEST EVER! I WILL NEVER USE OTHER RECIPES FOR CORNBREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
This is my go to cornbread recipe. The whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Castle Rock, Washington, USA
Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
OMG - I wish I could give this recipe more than 5 stars! As always, I read the other reviews before making this and decided not to change the amount of the butter and sugar this time but next time will probably cut the amount of butter and sugar. I didn't have cream corn so I substituted a 12-oz bag of frozen corn and about 1/2 cup fat-free half & half. I used the juice from the chilies and a 4-cheese Mexican blend. This went so well with chili - my only complaint was that I ate so much corn bread, I couldn't finish my chili! Next time I'm going to add some diced jalapenos to give it a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I've been making this cornbread for nearly a decade. I cut the butter down to 1/2 cup and instead of green chiles I use an entire can of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chiles, pressed through a strainer to drain as much liquid as possible. It never fails to impress!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPA_GRRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good. I didn't have any yellow cornmeal mix so I skipped the flour and baking powder and just used self-rising cornmeal mix. Texture was fine with the substitution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is great cornbread. I left out the peppers, 1/2 the sugar and butter and it was exceptional!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States