Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This recipe is outstanding! We followed the advice of others with using 1/2c of butter and 1/3 of sugar. We will DEFINITELY be making this again! Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This recipe tasted really good. I served it with Chili I. Next time, I will use half the butter as other reviewers have suggested because it was too wet the first day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Use half the butter! Trust me. I'm a butter lover and this recipe calls for way too much butter. Also, I add roasted, coarsely chopped peppers. This recipe is fabulous! I'm only on here today because I have to print this recipe for about the 20th time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
Great recipe, especially With the burrito pie recipe on this site. I used 6 tbsp. butter and 1/3 cup sugar. Definitely good on the sugar, but next time I might try 2-3 tablespoons more of butter. Wouldn't use the full amount of sugar or butter like the recipe states, though. Thanks so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I tried making these into mini muffins...the oven temp of 300 left them too crusty on the outside, yet still a bit undone on the inside. They also did not raise up...looked kinda like hockey pucs. I doubled the baking powder and baked at 375 and things were much better. I greased and floured the tins, but they were still a bit difficult to get out of the pan. Even though I reduced the butter and omitted the cheese they were still greasy. 3/4 cup sugar was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Love, love, love this recipe! Used it to make mini muffins for a party I was hosting, one batch of batter makes 72 mini muffins. I usually add the full can of green chiles and it gives them a little extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
For a healthier cornbread I substituted 1/2 Cup of olive oil for 1/2 cup of the butter in the recipe. Also cut back the 1 cup of sugar to 3/4 cup of sugar. Served the cornbread to over 100 people who also said it was the best cornbread they have ever tasted. I give this recipe 5 stars! YUM! -jagruti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Harkness

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hurleyville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Huge hit, super moist and everyone loved it, even my extremely picky boyfriend. I added a little shredded cheese on top right before it came out and it gave it nice texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as is only cut it in half. Instead of cooking it in the oven though I used our waffle stick maker and they turned out fantastic! It also cut the cooking time down considerably! I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
BEST EVER! I WILL NEVER USE OTHER RECIPES FOR CORNBREAD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 882) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States