Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mjstar03

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good. I did change the sugar and butter to 1/2 cup each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe but as many have said too much butter and for us too much sugar. I used half of both and the result was wonderful. Thanks this is a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Darlington, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This recipe makes a lot of servings. Tasty, but you'd need a lot of people to eat it while it's still fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was the best cornbread I've made but not the best I've ever tasted. I would like a more cake-like texture and this was quite firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This cornbread was fabulous. My son does not like cornbread but he ate almost all of it up. I tweaked it a little. I chopped up a whole can of jalapeno peppers into the recipe and added a little more cheese. I took the suggestions of others and used a little less butter. Thank you for this delightful recipe Judy. I would give it 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We loved this cornbread, but agree with some reviewers who say it goes a bit overboard on the butter. Next time we'll cut back somewhat (and could probably go with less sugar as well). We didn't have canned chiles, so chopped up a few large jalapenos and sauted them in a little olive oil for a few minutes. This really added some zing, and we'd definitely do the same thing when making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mpouliot34
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made homemade cornbread for the first time tonight. I could not find my baking powder so I substituted a small amount of Instant Yeast. I also only used 1/2 cup of butter and being I have small kids I added only 4 slices of jalapeno chopped real small. It tasted really good just didn't fluff up much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really Good....Similar To Jim and Nicks Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was so delicious! I only used 3/4cup butter and 1/2cup sugar. I also added about 1/2tsp of cayenne pepper for a little extra kick! I cooked it in an iron skillet at 425 for about 25 minutes. Yes, it may be high in fat but I don't consider it a meal. Although I could, I'm not going to eat the entire pan. Good for the occasional treat! I will definitely makes this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 887) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States