Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This was the best cornbread I've made but not the best I've ever tasted. I would like a more cake-like texture and this was quite firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
This cornbread was fabulous. My son does not like cornbread but he ate almost all of it up. I tweaked it a little. I chopped up a whole can of jalapeno peppers into the recipe and added a little more cheese. I took the suggestions of others and used a little less butter. Thank you for this delightful recipe Judy. I would give it 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We loved this cornbread, but agree with some reviewers who say it goes a bit overboard on the butter. Next time we'll cut back somewhat (and could probably go with less sugar as well). We didn't have canned chiles, so chopped up a few large jalapenos and sauted them in a little olive oil for a few minutes. This really added some zing, and we'd definitely do the same thing when making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mpouliot34
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Made homemade cornbread for the first time tonight. I could not find my baking powder so I substituted a small amount of Instant Yeast. I also only used 1/2 cup of butter and being I have small kids I added only 4 slices of jalapeno chopped real small. It tasted really good just didn't fluff up much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Really Good....Similar To Jim and Nicks Biscuits
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was so delicious! I only used 3/4cup butter and 1/2cup sugar. I also added about 1/2tsp of cayenne pepper for a little extra kick! I cooked it in an iron skillet at 425 for about 25 minutes. Yes, it may be high in fat but I don't consider it a meal. Although I could, I'm not going to eat the entire pan. Good for the occasional treat! I will definitely makes this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
If anyone says this isn't good? They probably just didn't follow directions correctly! I don't remember ever even liking cornbread until we made this 1 & it's a hit w/everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babyj510

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Really good. First time baking it; the cornbread was too moist. Not sure why, but it was done. Still quite good, and we certainly scarfed it down. I'm thinking you could make this in a 9x9 pan for thicker bread; will try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
Good tasty moist cornbread. However, too sweet for a dinner bread, and way too much fat. Cut these back to less than half the amount, and it's still scrumptious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
Moist, dense, sinfully good. I leave out the chile peppers because I am not a fan of them. We make this at least once a season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 883) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States