Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Fantastic recipe. I cut the sugar back to 3/4 cup and replaced 1/2 the butter with bacon grease, as well as added chopped bacon. Makes a great savory breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Like other reviewers, I halved the butter. I'm wondering if it was meant to say 1 stick of butter instead of 1 cup. This corn bread is very good! I will never use a mix again. The only other change I made was to use the full can of drained chilis. It was just moist enough to keep the bread from falling appart when you pick it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Best cornbread I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This cornbread was very tasty. I followed previous reviews and only used 1/2 cup of butter instead of 1 cup. I thought it came out very nice, maybe add a couple more tablespoons of butter if you like it a little greasy. I served this with a white chili recipe from this site, and the meal was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2012
First time making it, & it was great! I took advice of other reviewers & only used 1/2 cup butter & 3/4 cup sugar, & my husband & I both thought it turned out great. I also think it would be great without the chilis, and/or with more cheddar. Taking to a Cinco de Mayo pitch-in at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Judge

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I absolutely loved this recipe and so did my sisiter. I halved the recipe. The amount of butter did not make mine greasy at all. I also used jalapenos instead and made it in a cast iron skillet as well. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Delicious but def cut butter in half
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I had never made cornbread before this, now I cant stop. Ive made this recipe with cheese and chilies and ive also tried it with white chocolate and caramel. AWESOMENESS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camsmum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by IDALYZME
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND VERY TASTY...THANKS FOR SHARING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IDALYZME

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 111-120 (of 905) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States