Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I'm going to rate this as a 3* because its a nice recipe but not perfect. I love the fact it has chiles and cheese, but the overall effect is a little on the greasy side. Just the right amount of cornmeal. Nice taste, a shame its a little too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
My step-daughter loves it when I make this cornbread. She eats this by itself!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I've made this a few times to go with chili, of course. It makes enough to serve a large group and I'm always surprised at how high it rises up given the number of 'dense' ingredients that could bring it down. I follow the recipe exactly and all my guests have loved it. Nobody has complained of greasiness and they all commented on how moist and flavorful it was. It is sweet, as others have said, and that actually ends up being a nice counterpoint to the spiciness of the chili (I make it Hot) and provides a bit of a cooling element. If you are looking for a more savory bread, you would need to make a few adjustments to satisfy your heat level. But when so many of my friends and guests, with so many different taste preferences, all say it's a winner then the recipe must be doing something right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dutchgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I think its awesome, but double up on the chilies and jalapenos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
As others have suggested, I halved the butter and the cornbread was moist and delicious. I should add that I substituted finely diced jalapeno for chilis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Delicious, even though I didn't have all ingredients & had to sub fresh chili, 1 can of corn & fresh corn. My cornbread hating husband even liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Enjoyed the recipe! I've made it twice already and each time it was fabulous. For me, I didn't have a problem with the amount of butter so I'll stick to what the recipe states. Second time, I forgot to restock my pantry with cream of corn, so had to improvise with: one can of sweet corn, 1/4 cup milk and a 1/8 sugar. If I do run into that problem again, I'll just omit the extra sugar as it was too sweet that time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabbage

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Belleville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
very moist and great flavor, i used jalapenos instead of chilis
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
With the following modifications this is a 4+ star recipe: cut butter back to 6 tbsp and cut sugar back to 1/3 - 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I'll stick to my regular cornbread recipe that doesn't have sugar in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by superbbmom

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Carrollton, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 906) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States