Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
Too sweet, cut sugar by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
I like this very much. I thought it a bit too sweet so the second time I made it I cut the sugar by half. And mine was a bit too dense the 1st time so I use 6 tsp baking powder not 4 on the second go around. Also added niblet corn and cheddar cheese but it's all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Made a couple of times already, and it is a hit with even the toughest skeptic in the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Loved it! Way better than the box. My family has a new and permanent cornbread recipe. Thank you! Because of my high altitude I added a little extra cornmeal and flour and baked it at 325 degrees. Maybe that is the sticky problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This was a hit at the office! I added a little milk and used Jalepeno's instead of chile peppers. I baked at 350 for 1hr. I also added a little hot oil to the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is very good! Just made it and had a piece fresh out of the oven. I lowered the butter to 3/4 a cup and went with lowfat cheese. Also added a 1/2 cup of mild salsa. I think the family will like this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2015
I made this last week to have with Buffalo chicken chili. A most excellent combination. I'm making it again tonight. However, I took the advice of many reviewers when making this for the first time to reduce the butter to half a cup and the sugar to 3/4 a cup. I will not make that mistake again. By reducing the butter you are taking out the biggest source of moisture. I will admit that I did not include the green chilies as I did not have them and don't particularly care for them. I would imagine they could contribute to moisture as well. Since I won't be using them tonight I will be sure to include the full cup of butter. I will update my review after doing this. Otherwise, this is a great recipe all around. I think the overall taste is highly dependent upon the type of cornmeal you use and how fresh it is. I'm not really sure why anyone would be making this recipe using a prepackaged cornbread mix- it rather defeats the purpose. This is an easy, made-from-scratch, delicious cornbread with a little extra something. Thanks for sharing the recipe! Update: I made this last night with the full amount of butter. It definitely helped. Much moister. My family devoured it. I think next time, and there will definitely be a next time, I will meet half way with the butter. Perhaps 3/4 cup of butter. While the full cup helped make it moister, it may have been a tiny bit too crumbly from "grease". I will not go so far to say this was a greasy bread though. I will keep trying! Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Very moist and tasted great! I cut the amount of butter and sugar by just a bit and would probably cut the sugar even more next time and add a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Corvin Wegner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Fabulous a meal in itself also goes great with Mexican casserole
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aloha, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Love, love, love this recipe. I substituted the cream corn w/ 8oz frozen corn and 8oz sour cream. Also used can of Rotel in lieu of the chiles. So moist and super delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States