Absolute Mexican Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Entirely too sweet. :(. Sads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I completely agree with the other reviews that said the recipe should be tweaked by cutting butter by half and cutting sugar to 3/4 cup. I would just go ahead and use the whole can of chiles too. I'd have given this a higher rating had it not been soooooo sweet and greasy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Saugus, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I wish I had more stars to give for this cornbread. I made it to go with chicken enchiladas and it was amazing. My husband said it's the best cornbread he's had in his entire life, and didn't want me to send any of the leftover home with our dinner guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I'm not a cornbread person but my family absolutely loves this recipe! And it freezes really well- I always keep a few small pans in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2014
I tried this recipe tonight. Based on previous comments, I used only half the butter and about 3/4 cup of sugar. It turned out great! The diced green chilies I used were mild, which made my husband like it all the more. I would have preferred a bit of a "kick" but the flavor was good without it. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janis Landon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2014
I made this last night and my husband just cant get enough! He loves it so much he wants me to make for his mom!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I made it alone with sunday dinner and boy was it delicious..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Get Some Business

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
The high rating really misled me. I didn't have time to read the reviews to see how people adapted this recipe to make it a 4 1/2 star rating. I didn't have all the butter, so I cut back on it a little. I had to double the recipe for a dinner we were going to. After baking an hour, it was a soupy mess. After another 45 minutes it was better but sitting in grease. My husband tasted it and said that it had really good flavor as his hands were covered in butter.I had to come up with something at the last minute. Very disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scleedmd
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
Good Mexican cornbread. I used half the sugar and I'm glad I did. Next time I'll use half the butter. As it was, it was moist and had just the right amount of heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
I used white cornmeal because I didn't have yellow. I also forgot to drain the chiles. Neither change seemed to change the turnout...Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 893) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Fluffy Gluten-Free Cornbread

Cornmeal, millet, and rice flours create a light, fluffy cornbread.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States