Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
The name says it all--The best!! I made the cheese sauce with half and half and doubled the spices. From other reviews I sauced and seasoned each layer of potatoes with Mrs. Dash and combined the rest of ingredients with reserved sauce before pouring all over the potato layers. I added mushrooms and chopped ham to the cauliflower and onions. I used one head fresh cauliflower. I will definately make this again and again! My husband wouldn't let me take it to work for a pot-luck, it was that good. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
I adapted this recipe to use small red potatoes, red onion, margarine, skim milk, and fat free cheddar cheese. It cut out about 100 calories, 90 fat calories, and 6 saturated fat. However I used less ham as 4oz looked to be enough when mixed in with everything else. My husband and I both enjoyed this and will try again but with more cheese, seasoning, and cauliflower. This was filling enough to eat just for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
This was a good and hearty casserole. I used broccoli instead of cauliflower for the added vitamins. I also use red-skinned yellow potatoes because that's what I had on hand, and precooked the slices some since they are a more dense potato. Since a couple other reviewers mentioned that the cream sauce doesn't melt downward, I layered the sauce in three times between the potatoes and meat and the meat and broccoli (and then on top). The sauce recipe is a great consistancy and makes a good amount, but next time I will add more flavoring to it - salt, pepper, garlic, and maybe some other herbs. A person could easily substitute other meats or cheeses for different flavors (or whatever is on hand!) Would make a good breakfast casserole too, in my opinion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2007
THIS IS PRETTY GOOD. I WILL DEFINATELY MAKE IT AGAIN. I WAS OUT OF FLOUR SO I USED CORN STARTCH INSTEAD. I USED 4 TBSP OF IT, STILL TOO THICK. NEXT TIME I WILL ONLY USE 1 OR 2. ALSO, I LAYERED THE POTATOES AS DIRECTED, BUT I SHOULDVE SEASONED THEM AS I LAYERED THEM. NEXT TIME I WILL WITH SALT, PEPPER, GARLIC, AND ONION POWDER. IF THEY WERE MORE SEASONED I THINK IT WOULDVE GOTTEN 5 STARS. THEY WERE ALSO A BIT UNDER COOKED. I ALSO THREW IN A PACK OF SLICED MUSHROOMS BEFORE I PUT THE CAULIFLOWER ON. THEY WERE VERY GOOD ON THERE AS WELL. MY HUSBAND WHO DOESNT EVEN LIKE HONEY BAKED HAM, LOVED THIS RECIPE. HE EVEN WISHED THERE WAS MORE HAM IN IT. I ALSO TOPPED IT WITH THE FRIED ONIONS. VERY GOOD!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Upland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Great recipe! I used broccoli instead of cauliflower & fried onions instead of the corn flakes. I had no trouble getting the potatos cooked - just slice them very thinly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Spring City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
this was delicious. i added some feta cheese. turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This turned out pretty well! The cheese sauce was a little too thick; it just sat on top & didn't melt down to the potato layers while cooking. I may cut down the flour next time to make it slightly less thick. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
Very delicious. The ultimate in winter comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
This is excellent! I forgot to put the cauliflower in though...oops! Still wonderful! Even my 2 year old son who hates potatoes and hates cheese of any kind, begged for seconds! It will definitely be a regular dish in our house. Though I did find the cooking time to be very inaccurate. I cooked it for an hour and a half and the potatoes were still not 100% cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cleomobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
My husband LOVED this recipe. He kept telling me I can make it any time. The only things I did different were that I used frozen broccoli/cauliflower mix rather than just cauliflower. I also didn't have swiss cheese so I just used 1 1/2 cups colby jack, and it worked great. I also microwaved the potatoes first so they were done before I put them in the casserole. It still took an hour to heat it all through. Fabulous recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States