Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I made a few adjustments and it turned out very tasty! I did double the cheese sauce which was a little more than I needed. I added 4 minced garlic gloves and a pinch of white pepper to the sauce as others had stated it lacked a little spice. I used fresh cauliflower that I cooked for a couple minutes first. Lastly, I crushed up some garlic cheese croutons for the top. Yummmy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This was really good. Only made a couple of changes, which was to omit the onion (personal preference), to divide the cheese sauce into two portions, one of which I poured over just the potato layer, and the other I poured over the top as per the recipe, and I used breadcrumbs instead of corn flakes. Was a little on the salty side due to the ham, so next time wont add any additional salt, but was tasty and will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nelson, Nelson-Marlborough, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Great Great Great Meal. Used All different kinds of left over cheeses from the fridge to make the cheese sauce. We used fresh Cauliflower instead of frozen, and DIDN'T pre-steam it. Did have to cook for an extra 30mins because we doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynx

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly except I slightly increased the milk and cheese to make sure there was enough sauce. I didn't put any ham in it. This was worthy of the name "best". We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This was a yummy recipe. I did make a few changes. I thought Swiss cheese was too potent and used shredded cheddar cheese, which I already had on hand. I also had some leftover beef summer sausage from Christmas that I used instead of ham. I think most meats would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This was delicious but I only gave it 4 stars because of the cooking time. It took almost 2 hours for the potatoes to get soft enough (and even then a few in the middle were a little hard). I made this for dinner, and we couldn't wait any longer to eat. I used a blend of cream cheese, ricotta and mozzarella, because that's what I had on hand. After all the waiting though, it was very tasty. Maybe next time I need to use a bigger pan so that the potatoes can spread out more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
It was awful. It said to put the cheese sauce on top. I did that and that is were it stayed. It was awful. Had to toss it. I had company and was so embarrassed. Thank goodness it was just a family member.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Love the taste, but I will change a few things for next time. I will dice the potatoes instead of slicing them(make it easier for the kids and us to eat!) I will also double the sauce and make it cheesier(it doesn't seem to be enought sauce, especially when it is reheated for leftovers!) and I will also tack on 20 minutes of cooking time, as the potatoes were not done by following the times given(my oven even runs hot!) I did substitute half whole wheat flour for half of the all purpose flour and also added 2 tablespoons of soy flour for protein(which worked out wonderfully). Once the potatoes were done, it was a yummy meal! My family wasn't too happy about the extra wait time though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wapakoneta, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
It's just ok. If I were to ever make it again I would omit the onions and make a richer cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
Definatley comfort food! I used fresh cauliflower and small potatoes and the cooking time was about 15 minutes less. Next time instead of ham I'll try broccoli for the veggies in the family. So good, but this makes more like five or six servings in my house not the 10 that the recipe claims.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Springfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States