Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This was just ok. I used leftover spiral honey ham and thought it might be better if it didn't have the sweet flavor. I liked the sauce but if I try this again I think i will mix everything together instead of layering it. I didn't use cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Turned out great. I used this recipe more as guide while trying to use up what was in my fridge. I steamed the potatoes & cauliflower prior to adding them to the cassarole. I used cooked bacon instead of ham. For the sauce I just mixed together 1&1/4 C Plain Yogurt, 1/4 C Cream Cheese, 1 C milk, shredded mozzarella & parmesan, 1/2 tsp thyme, salt & pepper. Then I poured the mixture over the layers allowing the cheese to melt while cooking. Used crushed saltines instead of cornflakes for topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I wish when I was making this I would have went with my gut and used broccoli instead of cauliflower. It seemed like that would have gone better with the ham and potatoes then the cauliflower did. The cauliflower to me seemed out of place and didn't really add anything extraordinary. The cheese sauce was good and it did cover the casserole without tossing which I was worried about from other reviews and our potatoes cooked all the way through in the bake time stated but I do think I did slice them a little thinner than called for. Overall, ok but would probably try other recipes before having this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Oakland, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I thought this was very tasty and easy to make. I did use crumbled bacon rather than ham, used a combination of colby, cheddar, and swiss cheese, and also added some cayanne for a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This is going on top of my list of favorite casseroles. It was absolutely delicious and easy to make. The only change I made was to use crushed ritz crackers instead of corn flakes, and to leave out the cauliflower. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This was a really good cassorole. Since many people complained about potatoes that took forever to bake, I boiled them first for about 20 minutes. Then they only needed about 25 minutes baking time. The onion was very sharp, and my kids kept picking it out. Next time I'd saute it. I left out the ham. I also used broccoli instead of cauliflower since that's what I had and it was great, added color too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I added french fried onions instead of cornflakes. However when i reheated it as leftovers- i was out of the onions and used cornflakes also very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was great. A bit heavier in the prep than I realized, but once it came together it was great! Everyone liked it, and the kids didn't even realize they were eating cauliflower and onions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
Delicious - this was a hit with my family. I especially liked that it baked in the amount of time the recipe said. (I've always had trouble with other recipes with the potatoes not being done.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I used 3/4 cup montery jack cheese, and 1/2 cup asiago which created a tangy flavor to the potato. I also added 1 tsp.white pepper and 1 tsp garlic powder to give it a kick. Sampling the cheese sauce itself was almost enough for me. Try topping it with Frenches fried onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States