Absolute Best Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I tweeked things here and there. I made a smaller portion-less potatoes-with the same amount of cheese sauce. I baked it for 1.5 hours and it came out great. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troyerwmu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Mine cooked all the way threw but i had the temp on 400 f and cooked a lil faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking_queen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Used what I had - broccoli instead of cauliflower; 4 cheese mexican blend cheese instead of Cheddar/Swiss; panko breadcrumbs with olive oil and spices mixed in instead of cornflakes. Needed more ham and less potatoes and needed more veggies. My family liked it though and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBIVEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Not so hot. Made as directed. Could have used more ham less potatoes and would have benefited from something to color it up, brocolli, perhaps some peppers. Edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
this was a great recipe. My dish was too small when I started to layer everything so I found a bigger one. Well then it was not layered very nicely. all the potatoes and broccoli was mixed up oddly with the ham. but it was still good. I added steak seasoning to the cheese sauce and some peppereka. this is a budget meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizzabelle0826
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
This recipe was absolutely delicious! I have never eaten a better casserole. I did make a couple of changes, but nothing major. I seasoned the potatoes before layering them in the dish with garlic and onion powder, paprika, and seasoned salt. I added the same seasoning to the cheese sauce. I omitted the cauliflower due to nobody in the house likes it. I also added some more cheese on top when I added the corn flakes. The whole thing was gone by the end of the night and there are only 3 people that live here! Thank you for an amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzabelle0826

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Living In: Saxapahaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Great dish. The cook time is a bit off, needed to cook for an additional 45 minutes because the potatoes weren't done. Other than that, it was a hit at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dvaughn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
The cheese sauce was amazing before I added it to the dish. After it cooked it lost some of its flavor. I think it had to do with the bland uncooked potatoes at the bottom(they weren't soft enough for me)... I will try this again, but i think i will season the potatoes add green peppers, onion, and butter and let them bake while i prepare the cheese sauce... then i will continue with the steps in the recipe. I had higher hopes for this recipe... so I hope it ROCKS MY SOCKS with my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Crouch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Very delicious and easy recipe. I didn't have the cheeses the recipe calls for on hand so I used Parmesan and mozzarella and it turned out great. I also did not have cauliflower so I used frozen peas instead. I left out the cornflake topping and just let the cheese sauce brown a little. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Very Good! Used a cup of cubed spiral ham out of the freezer (thawed). Also, used mixed cheese: half swiss, half cheddar. Microwaved sliced potatoes with just a splash of water to get them started - then added other ingredients and baked as directed. Didn't even notice the cauliflower. After dinner a guest asked for the recipe, and it wasn't until then that I remembered the cauliflower was even in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

The Best Mashed Potatoes

See how to make fluffy mashed potatoes that are, well, simply the best!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States