Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
WOW, it really does taste like a liquid cinnamon roll!! Perfect for special occasions. Thanks for sharing!! :P Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grainfreegirl96
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This is YUMMY! I didn't have corn syrup so I substituted molasses, and it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie E.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
"Absolute Best" sure is correct! This pancake syrup was wonderful! My first time making my own pancake syrup and it was delish! I didn't have buttermilk, so I just used a mixture of milk and half/half with a touch of lemon juice and it was perfect. Letting the mixture cool really thickens it up nicely. It makes a lot and I have a container of it remaining in the fridge for the next time. After letting it cool in the fridge for a few hours has really made it extra thick and its pretty much just as thick as the bottles of syrup that you buy in the grocery. I served this over pumpkin pancakes and it paired so well together! Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Oh so delicious ! I'm almost too ashamed to report I consumed a few "shots" of syrup straight-up ( sans pancakes ) as I had no self-control. I dare not keep this concoction around. I read other reviews and made this in a super deep container: my pasta pot as it expanded in volume tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kootsa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Guess what??? I forgot to put in the buttermilk at the beginning, I ended up having to do it at the end AFTER I had already put in the baking soda and taken it off the heat. It STILL turned out delicious!!! I think this is DEFINITELY a keeper. *UPDATE* I have now made this over 10 times since I found it less than 6 months ago. This is absolutely the best and only syrup I will use from now on!! *Update again* I LOVE THIS SYRUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The only change I did was added a little fresh vanilla bean since I had one that needed used. Otherwise I followed recipe exactly and it was wonderful. My teenage son said no more store bought syrup! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was SO good! My husband and kids and I Loved this syrup better than any maple syrup ever!! We served this over homemade cinnamon pancakes with chopped cooked bacon in them. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
amazing on pumpkin pancakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was skeptical especially while making this but I admit that I prefer it to artificial store bought syrup AND even real maple syrup flavor-wise. I will make this again especially for company. I allowed it to cool down until it was only just warm. I made my own buttermilk using milk and lemon juice since I didn't have any on hand and was already making some for the pancakes (fluffy pancakes - also a recipe from this site). Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
How did others got thin/runny syrup?? Ours was so thick it was more of a glaze. I'm thinking maybe it's how long you simmer it that makes a difference. (Also, we tasted NO baking soda after taste, and it only foamed up an inch, not like the volcano others implied.) I made it exactly as the recipe indicated and it was delicious, but too thick to be called syrup. It's so delicious I am not complaining, I'll just simmer it less time next time. But the recipe really is perfect, and fast to make. I'll never buy syrup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 267) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States