Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Based on other comments, I intended on leaving the baking soda out altogehter, but lost focus, and ended up adding 1/8 teaspoon in. I'm not quite sure of the purpose of the baking soda in this recipie, so I'll probably omit it next time. I added in 1/4 cup of brown sugar. It tastes like pancake syrup, so I'm happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This was freaking amazing!!! Had to substitute milk and vinegar for the buttermilk (ran out while making the pancakes lol) and honey for the corn syrup (mine...expired). I will NEVER buy store syrup ever again. Do be careful though: it IS very addicting. It's like liquid cinnamon rolls. Thanks very much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
This syrup was simply Smack-yer-Mama good. But seeing as it was Mothers Day and, and I'm from the North, I refrained both from calling her "Mama" and from smacking her. Regardless, everyone at brunch agreed that this was just amazing, and you know to believe such reviews when folks are complaining they're full, but they're still sitting at the table eating this by the spoonful. I had none of the problems anyone else reported; while it will indeed get foamy, if you're used to making caramel corn (which I do constantly... sort of a culinary tic of mine) you know how to give it room and gently coerce it into submission. To wit: a firm but not overly aggressive whisking off-heat will help calm it down. And if the aesthetics of serving it are vexing you, what little foam remains skims off easily with a cool, dry spoon. My real reason for sticking in my two cents is to share that I, being totally dairy intolerant, made buttermilk of good, creamy Almond Milk with a spoon of white vinegar, and I substituted a high-quality natural margarine for the butter. Not only was it amazing (and doubly so for me, who could partake if not guiltlessly then at least painlessly), but my guests could not stop eating this version either, which was almost imperceptible in its difference from the Mother Syrup. This syrup is perfect over heartier breakfast sweets, like strata, bread puddings (shoot me now, I beg you) and stuffed French toasts. Also on grilled, buttered bread. Thank you for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas in NYC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
This recipe was excellent! I subbed honey for corn syrup and milk & lemon juice for the buttermilk but only because those are what I had on hand. It was so quick and easy. So far, I have only tasted it when it was done cooking and it was excellent. I know it will be awesome with pancakes for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Used 1 cup milk with a tablespoon of viniger instead of buttermilk. Added a heaped tsp of cornflour to thicken it up after reading the reviews. This will definitely be a staple in my house. Need to find some time to make pancakes in the mornings now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This is a great recipe but I did make a couple of changes. I didn't have buttermilk so I used nonfat plain Greek yogurt. I also used Dark corn syrup (it didn't specify which to use, light or dark). It's really kind of cool how it fizzes up after adding the baking soda! My recipe version stayed frothy for a while. When refrigerated it thickened and frothiness disappeared. Tastes great warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I wish I could give this recipe more than five stars, I would give it ten! I absolutely love this stuff. I made the recipe exactly as given (except that I dropped the cinnamon)and I had no problem whatsoever with a baking soda "taste". I am guessing those who did may not have measured accurately. Use exact measurements and level off your spoons and cups with a straight-edged utensil. Many dry ingredients tend to settle. Always "fluff" your dry ingredients using a fork or whisk (with the exception of regular sugar and salt) before measuring and use a different spoon to drop your dry ingredients into your measuring cups and spoons, then level off with a straight-edged utensil (I use an old metal frosting spatula). I agree with some of the other reviewers that advised making this before making your pancakes. NOTE: This is not going to be as thick as that yucky corn syrup based store-bought stuff. Don't expect any homemade syrups to be thick, they just won't be, but they taste heavenly! Cook in a large enough pot, as it does "expand" during the cook. I actually had enough to last a little over a week, since it was just me using it. The leftovers (if you have any) will separate into layers, which all you have to do is give it a good shake (mine in a mason jar) before pouring the amount you intend to reheat. A head's up to any of you who make bread pudding. The flavor of this would make an excellent sauce, and I intend to use it with the next bread pudding I make! YUMMY :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TangledNana

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
Only change was upping the cinnamon and decreasing the baking soda. It was perfect. Best served hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
This syrup is truly delicious. After reading other reviews I decided to use a little less liquid in order to make it more "syrupy". So I only used 1/2 C of buttermilk. I also left out the cinnamon because I really didn't want it to taste like a cinnamon roll as everyone says it does. It was great! I was worried about the baking soda after taste that some mentioned, but there was absolutely none. I wonder if maybe it just tastes a little too sour with a full cup of buttermilk. I may have to experiment and see if that is the case, but for now I will just use my tweaks and keep the kiddos happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smiles
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Delicious!!!! I didn't have any buttermilk so I made my own with milk and lemon. It was still yummy and full of sweetness!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smiles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States