Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
The only change I did was added a little fresh vanilla bean since I had one that needed used. Otherwise I followed recipe exactly and it was wonderful. My teenage son said no more store bought syrup! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was SO good! My husband and kids and I Loved this syrup better than any maple syrup ever!! We served this over homemade cinnamon pancakes with chopped cooked bacon in them. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
amazing on pumpkin pancakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I was skeptical especially while making this but I admit that I prefer it to artificial store bought syrup AND even real maple syrup flavor-wise. I will make this again especially for company. I allowed it to cool down until it was only just warm. I made my own buttermilk using milk and lemon juice since I didn't have any on hand and was already making some for the pancakes (fluffy pancakes - also a recipe from this site). Aside from that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Farmingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
How did others got thin/runny syrup?? Ours was so thick it was more of a glaze. I'm thinking maybe it's how long you simmer it that makes a difference. (Also, we tasted NO baking soda after taste, and it only foamed up an inch, not like the volcano others implied.) I made it exactly as the recipe indicated and it was delicious, but too thick to be called syrup. It's so delicious I am not complaining, I'll just simmer it less time next time. But the recipe really is perfect, and fast to make. I'll never buy syrup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Everyone loved this recipe, but it reminded me of caramel icing (like for a caramel cake) and nothing like syrup. It was good, but if I want all the extra butter (which I love) I'll bake a cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
After reading some of the reviews I was a little nervous about making this but, it turned out really good. I think if you cook it for a few minutes instead of 10 seconds it gets rid of the baking soda taste. I liked it better the next day. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is wonderful stuff!! I didn't have any milk or buttermilk so used straight evaporated milk. And I added 1/2 tsp clear jell to the sugar before adding the wet ingredients. I also only used half the soda. It was the best i had ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mortaltoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
SO SO GOOD. used this recipe this morning because we couldn't find our store-bought bottle and we had all the ingredients - lets just say i won't EVER be buying store bought again! this was absalutely delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Delicious. Very rich and buttery. I too used the milk/vinegar substitute for the buttermilk. Unfortunately, this was too rich for my husband's tastes. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juicyfruit007

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States