Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! Easy, Quick and wonderful taste! I halved the recipe and my kids ate it all! No more store bought syrup for us! ***UPDATE*** I have made this several times now and want to let you know when adding the baking soda to the hot mixture it will bubble up a lot (do not leave it or it will boil over). Also, we almost never have LEFTOVERS. If you like a thicker syrup you need to let it cool. When it is hot it is very thin and can separate. It really thickens up nicely and has a beautiful caramel color. I also make and serve mine right away but now I try and let it sit and cool for 10 minutes. It does reheat well in the microwave This would be GREAT used on a sundae, or as an apple dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was incredibly leary about trying this recipe while reading the ingredients but decided to give it a whirl when I ended up out of syrup on pancake morning. I NEVER have buttermilk on hand so had to sub that with 2%milk mixed with 1 tb of lemon juice. My kids and I really loved the flavor, the consistency kind of threw us, it is not thick at all, very runny but also not sticky as store bought syrups are. Overall very good recipe! We enjoyed it and will use again, maybe instead of store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Agreed, GodivaGirl - We, too, will never use store bought again. My only complaint (and probably my own mistake) was the frothiness of this. Way foamier than the picture. But the taste was beyond anything I can even describe, so I didn't care about the consistency or aesthetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
All right, this is seriously the best syrup ever. No more store bought ever again. But there are a few things you should know when making it - first of all, when I first put the ingredients in the pot, the milk curdled and looked gross and it took a little while for it to set up correctly (just a minute really, but I thought it would be faster to go from curdled looking to syrup looking and was worried that I had messed it up). I also read the other reviews that mentioned how thin it ends up, so I took 1 tsp of cornstarch and added just enough water to make it liquid, then added it to the mix when I added the baking soda. It was very foamy but still delicious. My kids loved it. I ended up eating a little later (you know, get them off to school and then get a chance to eat some waffles myself) and by that time, the syrup had cooled off, thickened up to about the same as store syrup, and lost all the frothiness. We'll see whether it will become a gel when it cools off completely - I tried to use just a little cornstarch to avoid that. But whatever the form, frothy, syrupy or gel - this stuff is delicious. It does not taste like store bought stuff, but rather a buttery cinnamon syrup. Much better and I didn't have to butter the waffles before the syrup because the butter was already in there! All in all, a great recipe that will get written into my favorites recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2008
I only tried this because I didn't have enough Log Cabin left for the number of people we had so I thought I would offer this as an option. Well--not one person used the store bought syrup! This tasted like warm cinammon rolls--DIVINE! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is seriously *the best* syrup I have ever had. I made it exactly as writted except that I halved it. I made the syrup before I made the pancakes so it would have time to thicken up a little before serving. It was perfect! I loved it! I will only be making this syrup from now on! *Update: This really reheats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Great recipe that comes together in no time. I've been making this weekly for the past month. My daughter now prefers this over store bought!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My kids loved this. New breakfast favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow! My family was impressed-this is better than traditional store bought syrup. What a hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is sooooo good! The ingredients looked way too weird to me reading the recipe, but I decided to try it anyway. I am so glad I did because I will be using this syrup recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States