Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Oh. My. Goodness. Is this good! If I could add more stars than five, I totally would. I am SO glad that I attempted this recipe. I was skeptical at first, but blown away when I tasted the end results. Never again will I use bought syrup. It's not like your typical bottled syrup. It's more like a liquid cinnamon roll. It's truly amazing, and you really can't understand unless you try for yourself. The only thing I changed was upped the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp. I like my foods a little stronger on the spice side. I freaked out after I added the baking soda, because it foamed up quite a bit. (I didn't read the reviews beforehand so I wasn't expecting this.) After pouring in into the container and letting it cool in the refrigerator, then shaking it up, it was thicker and the syrup was more uniform in color. Thank you times infinity for the person who submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I have such a mixed opinion on this one. I agree with everyone else about the wonderful flavor. I also agree about using a pot twice as big as needed because of the foaming after you add the b.soda. The foam took about 30 minutes to go away after the syrup was done. However - despite the great flavor - I could taste a slightly "carbonated" aftertaste of the baking soda. I had to refrigerate this syrup and wait until the next morning to reheat it in the microwave - then this baking soda taste was gone. I would recommend preparing this the day before you have guests over. Otherwise it does have the flavor everyone else says it does!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Menwith Hill'er Back Home !!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
All right, this is seriously the best syrup ever. No more store bought ever again. But there are a few things you should know when making it - first of all, when I first put the ingredients in the pot, the milk curdled and looked gross and it took a little while for it to set up correctly (just a minute really, but I thought it would be faster to go from curdled looking to syrup looking and was worried that I had messed it up). I also read the other reviews that mentioned how thin it ends up, so I took 1 tsp of cornstarch and added just enough water to make it liquid, then added it to the mix when I added the baking soda. It was very foamy but still delicious. My kids loved it. I ended up eating a little later (you know, get them off to school and then get a chance to eat some waffles myself) and by that time, the syrup had cooled off, thickened up to about the same as store syrup, and lost all the frothiness. We'll see whether it will become a gel when it cools off completely - I tried to use just a little cornstarch to avoid that. But whatever the form, frothy, syrupy or gel - this stuff is delicious. It does not taste like store bought stuff, but rather a buttery cinnamon syrup. Much better and I didn't have to butter the waffles before the syrup because the butter was already in there! All in all, a great recipe that will get written into my favorites recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
The name of this recipe says it all!!! I didn't have buttermilk on hand so I used the substitute of 1C of milk to 1T of vinegar. I let that sit for 10 minutes and then I took out 1T of mixture since the recipe only calls for 1C of buttermilk. This turned out wonderful!!! It's definetly not your typical syrup but I'm not a fan of maple flavor so this was PERFECT for me. It is runny straight from the pan so if you have time to let it sit that helps! Just delicious! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! Easy, Quick and wonderful taste! I halved the recipe and my kids ate it all! No more store bought syrup for us! ***UPDATE*** I have made this several times now and want to let you know when adding the baking soda to the hot mixture it will bubble up a lot (do not leave it or it will boil over). Also, we almost never have LEFTOVERS. If you like a thicker syrup you need to let it cool. When it is hot it is very thin and can separate. It really thickens up nicely and has a beautiful caramel color. I also make and serve mine right away but now I try and let it sit and cool for 10 minutes. It does reheat well in the microwave This would be GREAT used on a sundae, or as an apple dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Very good & caramelly. Used honey instead of corn syrup and kefir instead of buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This is seriously *the best* syrup I have ever had. I made it exactly as writted except that I halved it. I made the syrup before I made the pancakes so it would have time to thicken up a little before serving. It was perfect! I loved it! I will only be making this syrup from now on! *Update: This really reheats well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
*Very* tasty pancake syrup! We used it on waffles yesterday *and* then again today. Kids and hubby *love* it! Easy to make, just be sure to heed the directions and use a LARGE saucepan unless you want to be cleaning up gooey stickiness ;) This doesn't make a THICK syrup, so if that's what you're looking for, keep looking. If you're looking for YUM factor, you can stop looking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was incredibly leary about trying this recipe while reading the ingredients but decided to give it a whirl when I ended up out of syrup on pancake morning. I NEVER have buttermilk on hand so had to sub that with 2%milk mixed with 1 tb of lemon juice. My kids and I really loved the flavor, the consistency kind of threw us, it is not thick at all, very runny but also not sticky as store bought syrups are. Overall very good recipe! We enjoyed it and will use again, maybe instead of store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I made a few changes according to other reviews. I slightly browned my butter, used 1/2 cup dark brown sugar and 1/2 cup white sugar and used only about 1/4 tsp soda and added a pinch of salt. WOW!!!!!! If you put it into a glass jar while still almost boiling and screw on the cap immediately and flip upside down for 5 min, it will seal! You can make it ahead and it won't spoil :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States