Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
*Very* tasty pancake syrup! We used it on waffles yesterday *and* then again today. Kids and hubby *love* it! Easy to make, just be sure to heed the directions and use a LARGE saucepan unless you want to be cleaning up gooey stickiness ;) This doesn't make a THICK syrup, so if that's what you're looking for, keep looking. If you're looking for YUM factor, you can stop looking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I was looking for a quick pancake syrup to make at home because I just ran out. I will be making this recipe from now on. It tastes WAY better than the storebought stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WISKYRAPIDS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Odd combination starting with the buttermilk; but it is truly delicious.Ty adding different spices ( nutmeg; ginger;more cinnamon). A new family favorite!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tamara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leawood, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was much better than I thought it would be! The sound of buttermilk and baking soda together for pancake syrup sounded disgusting, but it was really good. Just wish it was thicker. I even let it simmer at low heat for 5 minutes to help it thicken. It didn't state wether it should be white sugar or brown so I used white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
FANTASTIC!!! Easy, Quick and wonderful taste! I halved the recipe and my kids ate it all! No more store bought syrup for us! ***UPDATE*** I have made this several times now and want to let you know when adding the baking soda to the hot mixture it will bubble up a lot (do not leave it or it will boil over). Also, we almost never have LEFTOVERS. If you like a thicker syrup you need to let it cool. When it is hot it is very thin and can separate. It really thickens up nicely and has a beautiful caramel color. I also make and serve mine right away but now I try and let it sit and cool for 10 minutes. It does reheat well in the microwave This would be GREAT used on a sundae, or as an apple dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
My kids loved this. New breakfast favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
I was incredibly leary about trying this recipe while reading the ingredients but decided to give it a whirl when I ended up out of syrup on pancake morning. I NEVER have buttermilk on hand so had to sub that with 2%milk mixed with 1 tb of lemon juice. My kids and I really loved the flavor, the consistency kind of threw us, it is not thick at all, very runny but also not sticky as store bought syrups are. Overall very good recipe! We enjoyed it and will use again, maybe instead of store-bought!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Poppy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyside, Washington, USA
Living In: Lemoore, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow! My family was impressed-this is better than traditional store bought syrup. What a hit!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Agreed, GodivaGirl - We, too, will never use store bought again. My only complaint (and probably my own mistake) was the frothiness of this. Way foamier than the picture. But the taste was beyond anything I can even describe, so I didn't care about the consistency or aesthetic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
This is sooooo good! The ingredients looked way too weird to me reading the recipe, but I decided to try it anyway. I am so glad I did because I will be using this syrup recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States