Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this one time and we just loved it! My husband and kids were all saying, "Mmmm" with every bite. The next time I made pancakes my kids asked for the 'ice cream syrup'! This syrup is the reason I now keep butter milk in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS! Used 3/4c sugar instead of 1c. Added 2T maple/agave syrup (Trader Joe's) instead of 1T of corn syrup. Added 1/2 a pinch of nutmeg. Added 1/4t cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Wow! AMAZING! Love the cinnamon in this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good. I have 3 picky kids and they all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I have made this several times and it is GREAT as is. However, the last time I made it I did do some substitutions. I used 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup light brown sugar, 5 tbsp agave and 4 tbsp powdered buttermilk along with 1 cup water ( I omitted the corn syrup, left vanilla and cinnamon as is). I let it simmer for about 10 min stirring constantly. Then I added the baking soda. This method gave me a more 'syrup' like consistency and took off around 60 cal per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yfowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
wow. I never thought I could make pancake syrup, let alone one better than any store bought! I halved the recipe since I didn't need very much, and used 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar, dark corn syrup, and for buttermilk in a pinch I used 1/2butter 1/2half n half. I always add extra cinnamon and vanilla to recipes for personal preference. Will DEFINATELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This tastes great over spice cake too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
The taste is amazing. I've made it with the milk and it was great but I also made it with water b/c my sister was visiting who is sensitive to dairy. It tasted just as good. I also used 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar to give it more of a caramel color. It was great and great for the non-dairy drinkers! Way better than anything store bought. I might drop the corn syrup next time just because its a GMO food and see how it goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
Super easy and completely delicious! I didn't change a thing....it is somewhat "runny" so I warned people before they used it....I served it right from the stove and it didn't have a chance to sit so maybe it could have thickened a bit more. So yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BettyBoop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This is especially good with an oven baked puff pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States