Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Loved this! I'm only confused as to the real purpose of the baking soda. Yes it provides foaminess but other than that I don't see it's purpose. I would double this recipe, omit the baking soda and make it thicker with some corn starch and water. The flavor can't be beat however. Next time I will try without baking soda and see if it is the magic yet subtle ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shevon

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
The BEST! Tried a few other of the highest rated syrups here. Without a doubt, THIS IS THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Although this had a good taste to it I didn't like how much butter taste there was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jess_caleb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Cannon Beach, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I made this one time and we just loved it! My husband and kids were all saying, "Mmmm" with every bite. The next time I made pancakes my kids asked for the 'ice cream syrup'! This syrup is the reason I now keep butter milk in my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
DELICIOUS! Used 3/4c sugar instead of 1c. Added 2T maple/agave syrup (Trader Joe's) instead of 1T of corn syrup. Added 1/2 a pinch of nutmeg. Added 1/4t cornstarch to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moonchyldcrab82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
Wow! AMAZING! Love the cinnamon in this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Very good. I have 3 picky kids and they all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
I have made this several times and it is GREAT as is. However, the last time I made it I did do some substitutions. I used 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/4 cup light brown sugar, 5 tbsp agave and 4 tbsp powdered buttermilk along with 1 cup water ( I omitted the corn syrup, left vanilla and cinnamon as is). I let it simmer for about 10 min stirring constantly. Then I added the baking soda. This method gave me a more 'syrup' like consistency and took off around 60 cal per serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yfowles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
wow. I never thought I could make pancake syrup, let alone one better than any store bought! I halved the recipe since I didn't need very much, and used 1/2 white 1/2 brown sugar, dark corn syrup, and for buttermilk in a pinch I used 1/2butter 1/2half n half. I always add extra cinnamon and vanilla to recipes for personal preference. Will DEFINATELY make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This tastes great over spice cake too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 271) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Homemade Pancake Mix

Hungry for hotcakes? With this premade mix, they’re ready when you are.

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States