Absolute Best Pancake Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
A few days ago, I rated this a 3. I'm amending my rating now that I've figured out the cooking time a bit better. The ingredients together are AMAZING and I give them 5 stars. But the cooking time? 0 stars. After you've put together everything but the baking soda, let it cook on medium-high heat until syrupy (about 10 minutes). Then follow the rest of the instructions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LADYFIRELYGHT
Living In: Lacey, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This stuff is sooo good!! It's like eating the topping of a Cinnabon. My husband who is not a sweets person actually eats it by the spoonful:) Due to allergies, I cannot have milk or soy so I substitute almond/coconut milk and Earth Balance soy free margarine and double cinnamon and it's delicious. I make a double batch and keep it in the fridge. It lasts for a couple of weeks, no problem. Such a good recipe that I actually stopped buying syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe is FANTASTIC!!! I was making breakfast for supper last night and realized after the store had closed that we didn't have any syrup for the pancakes. I decided to see if i couldn't find a recipe to make some myself since i love to bake and cook anyway. This recipe was easy and the family loves it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi Lynn Pruiett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
EXCELLENT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Given all the rave reviews, this recipe was a HUGE letdown. My issue wasn't with the foamy baking soda, but rather, the watery consistency of this syrup. Not even cornstarch could save this. I just prefer THICK syrup. Guess I'll stick with the store-bought stuff, sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I can't rate the original recipe because I had to make some substitutions due to lack of ingredients. I used 1/2 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar, which gave the syrup a rich flavor. I didn't have vanilla extract, so I used two tablespoons of pure maple syrup and omitted the corn syrup. The flavor was delicious - not too sweet with a taste almost like a cinnamon roll. It came out quite thin, but I don't know if that's because of my modifications or what. Next time I would probably halve the milk because I like a thicker syrup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkypower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Incredibly good ... It reminds me of the syrup they serve at Clinton St Bakery in NYC (best pancakes I have had to date) .... I made minor alterations: 1/2 milk, 1/4 vinegar and 1/4 water instead of the 1 cup buttermilk. Also I added 1/4 tsp of maple extract. I ditched the corn syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgilarranz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This is ABSOLUTELY the MOST FABULOUS syrup ever. I don't want to eat any waffles or pancakes anymore without this syrup. I ask my hubby to make it for me on the weekends while I mix up the waffle batter and then the magic comes together. Ahhhhh....Bliss in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
GREAT buttery-caramel flavour, the consistency is a bit thin, but if it's let to rest for a few minutes, it thickens a bit. Great after put in the fridge too. Definitly a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
There is no reason now for me to buy any type of syrup. This is our homes syrup of choice. My grandkids refuse to eat pancakes or waffles without it. Absolutely Excellent!!! As others have said it is best if left to set over night before using it. It gives the flavors time to meld together. YUMMY!! Thanks for an awesome diet breaker...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Best Waffles

Making delicious waffles from scratch is easier than you think!

Best Ever Crab Cakes

Delicious, homemade crab cakes that come together quickly.

Best Oven Baked French Toast

Make-ahead sweet breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States