Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Hi there, I've never made liver before in my life but I had to for my boyfriend because he's having surgery and needs to build up his hemoglobin, so the poor boy needs lots of iron! His mother would make liver for him once a month as a child and he thinks it's awful stuff. I made him this and he loved, loved loved it! It was tender (milk?) and perfect and I even loved it too! The onions made all the difference and I also added a wee bit of rosemary to the liver (since I was using it in my roasted potatoes) and that was perfect. My mom used some dijon mustard for dipping and that helped her. Thanks for this, truly wonderful and simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Best liver I've ever had. Lol, I really do not like liver, though, and this recipe didn't turn me into a convert, so 4 stars. I will use it when I have request for liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I tried this one a few days ago. We had just butchered a whole beef and so had plenty of fresh liver around. I liked this recipe. My wife likes mine better... LOL! Such is life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love the advice to soak in milk. I love eating liver, but I can only stand the liver taste maybe once or twice a *year*. So when we do it this way I can eat it more often, which is great because I need the extra iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I had forgotten how to make this. Thank you so much for helping me remember how a foster parent made me like Liver & Onions when I was a kid. It is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Downing Raiford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
My first time eating liver. I really liked the flavor, though I admit I got grossed out that I wasnt eating a liver and couldnt finish my helping. Was super great tasting though, thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Partyof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
Great recipe. I cut down the soak time in milk to just 15 minutes because I like the unique taste of liver. I also used calves liver because of the tenderness. A little trick my mom taught me that always helps is to take a meat tenderizer and hit the meat just a very little to make it even more tender. The dish was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah_uss

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I tried it with deer liver and it was good but tough. I'm afraid there's no getting around that with wild game, calfs liver is probably better. Base on ease and aste alone, 4 stars. Thaks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
This recipe is perfectly named! Absolutely! I've been cooking liver for fifty years and and liking it but it has never been better than this. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I've made this recipe 3 times. My husband loves it every time. Invited the neighbor over and he fell in love too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States