Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
The tips in this recipe are great for making really tender liver. But the milk takes away *too* much of that liver taste that I actually like, leaving me with a pan of rather bland liver. It's great if you're trying to get your kids to eat liver, but as someone who actually likes liver, I think I'll forgo the milk next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
920 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I can barely force liver down usually and it's the only food I've ever found my husband won't eat. Pregnant, on a strict budget and told by my midwife I had to eat liver once a week, I despaired. I cannot thank you enough for this recipe! I actually enjoyed it, got my husband to try it and marked liver off the list as the only food he won't eat! You're a miracle worker! I only had time to soak the liver for about thirty minutes this time, so I can't wait to try it next time, when I'll soak it all day first. Man, thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
501 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flintstone, Georgia, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2005
My dad is a huge fan of liver and onions and when mom is out of the house this is the time I can make it for him. The smell of buttery onions makes your mouth water and appretite build up! It comes out delish! Just make sure not to over cook, I take it out a few minutes before its done to his likeing because it does cook while off the heat for a few moments anyhow! Calves live is the most tender, but if you marinate in milk most of the day (which I do) and not flip it more than needed you will have a nice tender liver that will melt in your mouth, well atleast cut with a butter knife *smile*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
420 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Babylon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I absolutely loved this recipe! I added a little garlic to the pan before I fried the onions, and that gave it a really nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
mmmmmm! this realy is the best recipe for liver. I had never thought of soaking in milk before. When I tried it last night it came out fantastic. It was tender, moist and delicious. Not the usual "shoeleather" quality that liver can sometimes take on. Yes I belive this recipe will convert liver haters into liver tryers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Akron, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Great recipe! My husband raved about the liver. I was a little hesitant since I hadn't cooked liver in over 15 years. I used extra virgin olive oil instead of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
I made this last night for dinner at the request of my fiance. I have to admit, liver has never been my favorite dish, and I've never made it before, but this recipe was so easy, and it's true, the milk takes out all of the bitter taste. If it was good enough that I cleaned my plate, it deserves 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
it was moist, delicious, and most of all easy easy easy!! i soaked the liver for about 30 mins, and i liked liver without soaking it in milk, but i dont think i will ever eat liver and onions again unless im using this recipe, it was fabulous!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHADO_STAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2003
My husband is a HUGE liver & onion fan and he LOVED this, as well as the fact that I made it for him. I have only really eaten a few bites off of his in the past, so I just had a few nibbles & thought it was good (I love the onions). Thanks JSHULER, my husband thanks you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This rating comes from hubby, although I did give it a little taste and I must admit that it was pretty good. He came home with calves liver, which I've never cooked, so I was happy to find this recipe. I never would have thought to soak it in milk. He absolutely LOVED this "J" and thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States