Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am so sorry to say i was disappointed. Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't like liver before and this one did not change my mind. In fact the liver made me feel sick since it's all liverey and such like. The milk did seem to help, but not enough. I'm severly anemic and was hoping for help, but it's going to have to stay iron infusions for me. I hope the recipe works for someone else though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I was actually rather surprised when I first ate it. I could barely taste the liver flavor after I soaked it for an hour and a half! Even my mother and sister ate it and were shocked that it turned out decent, and they LOATHE liver. I was just going to give the beef liver I have in my deep freezer to my one uncle who is the liver fan in the family, but I think I'm going to keep it now. Thank you! This is a recipe I'm going to keep using from now one except I'll soak it over night instead to get the rest of the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilladychief

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It's a good recipe. I really like liver and onions, but I haven't found a recipe yet that is much different than any other. I'm giving this four stars because while its very good, it doesn't seem to be much different than any other recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe as writen and I used calf liver. This was the best lover and onions I've ever had. This turned my husband into a liver eater! I served it over grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was excellent! My SO loves beef liver and onions, but although I love chicken livers, I've never really been a fan of beef liver. This recipe totally did away with the bitterness and toughness. It was so tender and flavorful! We both enjoyed this very much and will make it again often. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Hi there, I've never made liver before in my life but I had to for my boyfriend because he's having surgery and needs to build up his hemoglobin, so the poor boy needs lots of iron! His mother would make liver for him once a month as a child and he thinks it's awful stuff. I made him this and he loved, loved loved it! It was tender (milk?) and perfect and I even loved it too! The onions made all the difference and I also added a wee bit of rosemary to the liver (since I was using it in my roasted potatoes) and that was perfect. My mom used some dijon mustard for dipping and that helped her. Thanks for this, truly wonderful and simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Best liver I've ever had. Lol, I really do not like liver, though, and this recipe didn't turn me into a convert, so 4 stars. I will use it when I have request for liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I tried this one a few days ago. We had just butchered a whole beef and so had plenty of fresh liver around. I liked this recipe. My wife likes mine better... LOL! Such is life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewisburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I love the advice to soak in milk. I love eating liver, but I can only stand the liver taste maybe once or twice a *year*. So when we do it this way I can eat it more often, which is great because I need the extra iron.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I had forgotten how to make this. Thank you so much for helping me remember how a foster parent made me like Liver & Onions when I was a kid. It is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Downing Raiford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA
Living In: Tyler, Texas, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States