Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This IS the Absolute Best Liver & Onions! It is better than my favorite restaurant's version! I love liver but could never cook it properly. Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I hated eating liver as a child because of the taste & my parents over cooked. As an adult, I was able to avoid eating. My husband loves liver, so I decided to try this recipe because of the many good reviews. I made it last night and found this to be the best liver I've ever eaten. I will make it again. I believe the KEY to a tasty meal with liver is soaking it in the milk and not over cooking. I'm working on convincing my sister she should try; she hated liver more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I remember disliking liver when I was a girl, but for the last week I had a craving for it. I came upon this recipe, tried it and my meal was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
OMG!! so simple yet so good. Don't overcook-maybe 2-3 minutes per side on medium heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
I had such high hopes that this recipe would make me a liver lover. Sadly it did not. I soaked the liver in milk for almost 2 hours and only flipped once in the pan. It smelled and looked delicious! I couldn't wait to sit down and eat but once I dug in the strong liver taste was still there. However the flour crust was delicious (I added garlic powder in addition to the salt and pepper). I truly believe that if you already like liver than this is a great recipe for you. It's very easy and quick. I wish it had done it for me but unfortunately it just didn't. I wonder if soaking longer would make a difference?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
My nutritionist told me to eat liver at least once a week so I decided to try this. I soaked the liver for about 36 hours in milk. Then I fried the liver in organic butter and coated with arrowroot flour to keep it gluten free. I was pretty scared to try it but it's quite good. It reminds me a bit of oysters, like there's something gross and delicious about liver at the same time. In any case, I will be making a lot more liver recipes, as well as homemade pate in the near future because of the amazing health benefits. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I am eating this recipe as I write. Couldn't wait to give it's review... This really is "Sensational". Thank you for posting! EmeryD Calhoun GA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emery Driscal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
My mother used to make us liver and onion often, and this recipe equals or surpasses hers. Soaking the liver in milk makes a difference. I made this with more onions, and fried the onions first to a nice caramelized stage. Tender enough to cut with a fork!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ql7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I haven't cooked liver and onions in years. I cooked it tonight using this recipe and it was ten times better than what I use to make. If I'd had this recipe maybe my kids would like liver and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Soaking the liver in milk is absolutely the way to go. I love liver anyway but I could definitely tell the difference. I also cook my liver medium to medium-rare which keeps it tender. Loved this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States