Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
This was absolutely wonderful! I think that soaking the liver in the milk made a major difference in the liver flavor. Thanks!,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Fabulous! I followed the recipe exactly, except I removed the fibers and membranes from the liver before I cooked it. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Pretty darn yummy! I gave this recipe only 4 starts simply because I didn't follow the recipe to a "T". I am currently dieting and cannot have flour or butter, so I followed the recipe omitting the flour and butter aspects. I also took the advice of a fellow reviewer and sauteed garlic with the onions. It is DELICIOUS! I love Liver & Onions and this just re-affirms my love for it! When I am no longer dieting, I shall try it with the flour and butter. I can only imagine what kind of Heaven that will be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I am so sorry to say i was disappointed. Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't like liver before and this one did not change my mind. In fact the liver made me feel sick since it's all liverey and such like. The milk did seem to help, but not enough. I'm severly anemic and was hoping for help, but it's going to have to stay iron infusions for me. I hope the recipe works for someone else though!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I was actually rather surprised when I first ate it. I could barely taste the liver flavor after I soaked it for an hour and a half! Even my mother and sister ate it and were shocked that it turned out decent, and they LOATHE liver. I was just going to give the beef liver I have in my deep freezer to my one uncle who is the liver fan in the family, but I think I'm going to keep it now. Thank you! This is a recipe I'm going to keep using from now one except I'll soak it over night instead to get the rest of the flavor out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilladychief

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It's a good recipe. I really like liver and onions, but I haven't found a recipe yet that is much different than any other. I'm giving this four stars because while its very good, it doesn't seem to be much different than any other recipe I've tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I followed the recipe as writen and I used calf liver. This was the best lover and onions I've ever had. This turned my husband into a liver eater! I served it over grits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Iberia, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This was excellent! My SO loves beef liver and onions, but although I love chicken livers, I've never really been a fan of beef liver. This recipe totally did away with the bitterness and toughness. It was so tender and flavorful! We both enjoyed this very much and will make it again often. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Hi there, I've never made liver before in my life but I had to for my boyfriend because he's having surgery and needs to build up his hemoglobin, so the poor boy needs lots of iron! His mother would make liver for him once a month as a child and he thinks it's awful stuff. I made him this and he loved, loved loved it! It was tender (milk?) and perfect and I even loved it too! The onions made all the difference and I also added a wee bit of rosemary to the liver (since I was using it in my roasted potatoes) and that was perfect. My mom used some dijon mustard for dipping and that helped her. Thanks for this, truly wonderful and simple!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Best liver I've ever had. Lol, I really do not like liver, though, and this recipe didn't turn me into a convert, so 4 stars. I will use it when I have request for liver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States