Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
I just made this because I had severe blood loss and I needed iron. I have never had any liver and onions before so it is likely it's not the recipe, it's just inherently liver and onions, thus the two stars. I gagged this down and mainly swallowed everything whole. Liver is SO GOOD FOR you, but I am clearly too wimpy for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
Awesome! The only thing I changed was that instead of milk, I soaked it in buttermilk...the old-fashioned way. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReddGypsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This is the best ever!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
My boyfriend loves liver and onions, so he asked me to make it for him...I was intimidated to say the least, but this recipe seemed easy to follow, and it turned out wonderfully! (At least, he really really enjoyed it...I admit I didn't have any.) Thanks for the non-threatening liver recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana Sweeney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was my grandmom's recipe I grew up with! My family has always used it. Except we've always used Calves Liver. It melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing the recipe. I'm not much of a cook, but am working on it! This recipe is very easy. I would never have thought of soaking in milk. Absolutely tender enough to cut with a butter knife. I didn't have Vidalas on hand, substituted a yellow onion and a red onion. Nice mild flavor with that mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I have been using this recipe for years. My husband always told me he hated liver until I tried this receipe. I also add green pepper strips to the onions and a dash of paprika to the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
Liked it so well I made it 2 nights in a row!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Kilbride, Lanarkshire, Scotland, U.K.
Living In: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
Very good and easy. If you cook calf livers then there isn't that bitterness. But it makes them even more most to use the milk. We will be using this recipe through out the years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 302) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States