Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
This is an excellent recipe. I am not a liver fan and my kids would never eat it so when my last one went off to college, I surprised my husband with this dish. We both enjoyed it and I will make it again! I did buy good quality liver from the farmer's market even though we are on a budget as it was relatively inexpensive. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This tasted EXACTLY like my grandmother's recipe that I grew up on a kid. This is my first time ever making liver and onions, and I am extremely excited that it turned out so well. I followed the recipe exactly, with the exception that I had halved the recipe for my family, and then accidentally forgot to half the amount of butter for the onions, but the buttery onions were delicious!!! I soaked the liver in whole milk for a little over an hour, and it had a pleasant, but not overwhelming "livery" taste. The only other thing that I love putting on my liver is bacon because it gives that extra bit of saltiness, and compliments it so well. Because it is not a very healthy dish, we don't eat it often, but I love having it for a special treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
add mushrooms or peppers--soak for 1-2 hrs for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Couldn't stand liver until this recipe came along!It totally eliminates that nasty bite liver leaves long after you've eaten it.The only thing different I do is stab up my liver once it's in the milk, and that seems to work out well.I've let the liver sit in the milk from 10 minutes to over night.Doesn't matter how long it sits it does the same job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I love liver and onions! I'm just not sure I love this recipe. This is the first time I've ever used butter, preferring instead bacon grease. I only soaked the liver in milk for one hour. The liver tastes nothing like liver. Gone is the irony taste of liver that I so enjoy. I am curious as to how a brief soak in buttermilk would . But for now, I just can't decide.......... For me, it's just not liver and inions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Me and my husband both enjoy liver but we only ate it once a year. Never really remembering to add it on our shopping list but after trying this recipe liver has because a monthly meal. Thanks for the recipe!! This is the best liver I ever tasted! The only thing I changed was I added garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
I substituted chicken liver for beef liver, used buttermilk instead of milk, skipped the flour step and added the buttermilk from the soak directly into the pan and added the onions together with the liver. Onions got beautifully caramelized to medium brown and the dish was just amazing. Saving this for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This recipe is so easy to fix, beginning to end. I soak the liver for up to 3 hours in milk. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
My kids didn't like it so I mixed it with hamburger meat to cover the taste. Both my husband and I thought it wasn't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Great recipe. Perfect. No need to change a thing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States