Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My husbands favorite meal. Soaking the liver in milk really is the key. It takes the bitterness away but it also tenderizes it. I follow the recipe as printed but after cooking, I make a milk gravy in the browning of the liver/onions in the pan and put the liver/onion back in the gravy and put a top on it and simmer for 15 minutes. It is very tender and the gravy is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This best I have ever had it! prep and cook time was fast and easy. I soaked the liver overnight in the milk. No bitter taste to it all. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yummmmnny !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I am a HUGE liver lover and this has become my goto recipe for liver and onions. I omit the process of soaking the liver and milk however, because I love the taste of liver and I feel like it takes away from the taste. Glad I used to always go over my grandparents house for liver and onions or order them when I went out to the diner. Now I can make it at home and it's so much cheaper. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was our first experience with liver and even then only because my son requested it. We all decided that this would be a once a year meal for us. We agreed we like the recipe it's just the liver we had issues with. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We just don't like liver and we ordered pizza. Yes, I followed it to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe very much! I wisked some flour in beef broth and made a delicious gravy with a splash of cooking sherry. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe tasted great and was super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Oh so good!! We already like liver but this was especially yummy! It was very flavorful and tender. I followed the recipe as written exceptI only soaked it in milk for 30 minutes. I fried some bacon slices first and set aside to break over the top later. I sauteed a couple fresh mushrooms with the onions. The liver, the sauteed onions and mushrooms, and the bacon pieces all piled on a serving platter made for a yummy meal with mashed potatoes, and ketchup on the side for dipping. I followed the suggestion to mix leftover flour with water in the frying pan to take advantage of all the flavorful pan drippings and this made a good gravy for the potatoes. I plan to repeat this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
this has to be the best liver and onions recipe! i added a little bit of garlic and some rosemary for extra flavor and that was it! thank you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States