Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was the easiest and best recipe. The liver and onions tasted just as good as the best I've had at any restaurant. I've made this with both Vidalia onions and white onions both were good but I do recommend the Vidalia. I also Fried some bacon which is a personal favorite addition of mine with liver and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My husbands favorite meal. Soaking the liver in milk really is the key. It takes the bitterness away but it also tenderizes it. I follow the recipe as printed but after cooking, I make a milk gravy in the browning of the liver/onions in the pan and put the liver/onion back in the gravy and put a top on it and simmer for 15 minutes. It is very tender and the gravy is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
This best I have ever had it! prep and cook time was fast and easy. I soaked the liver overnight in the milk. No bitter taste to it all. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Yummmmnny !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I am a HUGE liver lover and this has become my goto recipe for liver and onions. I omit the process of soaking the liver and milk however, because I love the taste of liver and I feel like it takes away from the taste. Glad I used to always go over my grandparents house for liver and onions or order them when I went out to the diner. Now I can make it at home and it's so much cheaper. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kingston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This was our first experience with liver and even then only because my son requested it. We all decided that this would be a once a year meal for us. We agreed we like the recipe it's just the liver we had issues with. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
We just don't like liver and we ordered pizza. Yes, I followed it to a T
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I enjoyed this recipe very much! I wisked some flour in beef broth and made a delicious gravy with a splash of cooking sherry. Will be making this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kclawrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great recipe tasted great and was super easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Oh so good!! We already like liver but this was especially yummy! It was very flavorful and tender. I followed the recipe as written exceptI only soaked it in milk for 30 minutes. I fried some bacon slices first and set aside to break over the top later. I sauteed a couple fresh mushrooms with the onions. The liver, the sauteed onions and mushrooms, and the bacon pieces all piled on a serving platter made for a yummy meal with mashed potatoes, and ketchup on the side for dipping. I followed the suggestion to mix leftover flour with water in the frying pan to take advantage of all the flavorful pan drippings and this made a good gravy for the potatoes. I plan to repeat this method again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States