Absolute Best Liver and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I've fixed liver & onions this way for many years. As some others have mentioned, I add a little garlic. After the liver is dredged in flour and in the pan and turned the first time, I put about of cup of the left over flour in there ... really! Just dump it in and cook along with the liver and onions. Viola! Yummy gravy. Of course with that great gravy, one needs homemade mashed potatoes. A perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I used a regular yellow onion, which turned out fine. To saute the onion, I used 2 tablespoons of Earth Balance substitute butter spread, but for the second 2 tablespoons of butter to cook the liver in, I substituted bacon grease. We liked liver already, but now my husband declares that he wants "liver every night!" It was really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I've never used milk and flour for liver. Turned out good. Tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Excellent recipe! Loved it immensely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Excellent! If you like liver this recipe is simple and tastes great. We fried the liver in canola oil instead of butter and it turned out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BJ's Grandma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Add some cold water into the leftover flour, mix it up, and then add it to the liver and onions pan, once you have removed the liver and onions. It will make a delicous gravy. Then toss the liver and onions back into the pan, and simmer for a few minutes. Serve over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Billy Brown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Liver was one of my favorite foods as a kid, and this is exactly how my mom made it! Easy and straight forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrillville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fountain Hills, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I don't eat liver, don't care for it but my husband loves it. I made this recipe for his (without my own tasting) and he LOVED it! I added garlic salt, paprika and pepper to the flour, didn't turn them but once and also did the bacon with the onions. I did the milk soak for about 40 minutes, used beef calves livers. I will definitely make this again or at least teach him how to make it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lisle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good dish. My wife has never liked liver but she actually enjoyed this recipe as did my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Absolute Best Liver and Onions

This recipe will make a liver lover out of even the pickiest eater.

Hamburger Steak with Onions and Gravy

See how to put a simple twist on a delicious diner classic.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States